Help required in dogs and cats Sanctuary, Ko Samui, Thailand

Country

Thailand

Bisher 979 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.07.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    67.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    In need of 2 volunteers for
    June, July and August.
    Minimum length of stay is one and a half to two months depending on past experience and motivation but we really prefer 2 months or more. This is important for the animals!

    We are a home for dogs and cats in Ko Samui. As I am a big animal lover, I quickly started to help street animals when I arrived from Europe with my 4 cats 13 years ago. But very quickly, I discovered that lot's of animals were in need of a safe and loving home aside of only help which resulted me starting a Sanctuary counting 50 dogs and 20 cats at the moment.
    I share my home with them and we live in the middle of a coconut and rubber plantation (situation that will change in the coming months as we have to leave the place where we have been staying for the last 4 years) not far from beaches.
    The amount of work has become too much for me alone of course so I am therefore seeking help true this site.

    You will benefit from the experience with a more general understanding of many animals living in one place and a real sense of achievement knowing that you have given something back to the animals .
    With the added bonus of living on Koh Samui to really see and experience Thai culture and food at its best.

    We are looking for hardworking, honest and enthusiastic people to join our small volunteer based charity organisation. Ideally applicants will be over 25 years old, with a high level of spoken English, along with plenty of common sense, and with a love of animals and their welfare. You need to have a passion for helping cats and dogs. We are not a place to turn to if you have run out of money, if you seek for free accommodation or want to practise English skills.

    You need to be able to help unsupervised and be self motivated, while also being able to work as part of a team and with other volunteers. We need people that are committed to stay for the time we have agreed on, as by not doing so, you are putting us in a very hard position, which results in letting the animals down that we care for. While this is not a holiday, as it can be hard work, the roles are both very rewarding. The Sanctuary is a happy place, full of lovely animals, great volunteers and a positive energy.

    GENERAL VOLUNTEER TASKS:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Taking sleeping cushions up and shake them
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Sweeping downstairs and upstairs , all places where animals stay, mop every second day
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Stocking up on merchandise keeping other areas clean, washing laundry, washing dishes
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️every second day cooking for the dogs
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ feeding dogs and cats
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️washing eating bowls and cooking pots
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️changing water of water bowls
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ walking dogs in different groups, no leashes involved, some groups get two walks a day
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ socialising with dogs and cats, bathing some dogs with skin problems
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ monitoring the health of dogs and cats
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ helping with the groceries for the animals every 20 days
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️you might be ask to do other tasks if necessary, like little repairs of the compounds or reparing cushions the dogs have been chewing on....
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️living with animals always brings surprises, so anything can happen at any time, in case of immergency, I do need to be able to count on you even if it is in your free time but if you are a real animal lover this should be no problem.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️in the evening putting cushions down
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️feeding a few dogs who take medicines
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️give the cookies
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️poo scooping
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️racking the compounds
    *️️️️️️️️️️preparing the big cooking pot for the next day


    Cheap 3G simcards can be bought here for internet.

    A previous experience in Thailand would be beneficial.

    Thank you in advance,

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Staying in a different culture for a while is very beneficial as it will show you a different way of looking and experiencing life. If you love nature and animals like dogs and cats, you will learn a lot about them, about their behaviour, their diet. We have disabled dogs, cats living with dogs, you will learn how to feed them individually, how to behave with them, walk them, treat them if necessary. They will love you as most of them are social. This is an experience not to miss.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    QUALITIES REQUIRED:
    A love of animals is essential but you’ll also need to be hard¬working, motivated, friendly and mature. It can be dirty work (cleaning eg. poop and vomit). You’ll meet great people and we know you’ll have lots of fun, but the animals come first. You’ll be expected to start your shift on time – this includes alternate 8.30am starts, so please think carefully about whether you’ll be able to commit to this.

    This experience is like no other, and you will surely fall in love with our little piece of animal heaven! There are motorbikes and bicycles for rent, so you can easily discover this great Island on your free time. We have 4 bicycles for volunteers to use.

    Other things to do: Ko Samui has various waterfalls, nightlife (min 30 min away from the sanctuary, you will need to rent a motorbike for that) Snorkeling trips, biking, yoga, meditation, jogging on the beach, Thai cooking classes. Enjoying the laid back atmosphere.

    PS: Important to know is that you need to have a motorbike liscence from your own country to be able to be covered by any insurrance if driving a motorbike. Nobody will tell you to do so but I had the experience and meanwhile do know the exact law.
    Plse inquiere before just renting one, it could cost you a lot of money in case of accident and hospitalization.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, Dutch, English, medium Spanish (I lost a lot of my spanish but like to practice it) and a little bit of thai

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer a basic room or bungalow, with fan, as the bungalow has two beds, it could be possible you would have to share it with another person.
    - You will share the bathroom and kitchen with other volunteers and me.
    - It’s very peaceful in the evenings (except when dogs bark, only at the Sanctuary)
    - If you still want to workaway with us, but feel that you need a higher standard accommodation, you are welcome to do this at your own expense (you just need to book a guest house by yourself somewhere nearby). The prices for this varies according to standard, but in the busy season it would be around minimum 5,500 - 8,000 Thai Baht per month. A scooter rent is around 3,000 Baht per month.

    Travel insurance is compulsory when volunteering here!

    Ps: If you are already a Thailand traveller, just know that prices for veggies, fruits...food in general will be a bit more expensive as compare to non touristic places.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Samui is a nice island where one can see nice waterfall's, snorkel and fishing trips, drive around the island with the motorbike, visit fresh markets, see Thai boxing.....or simply enjoy peace and quietness....

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 days a week, about 4 (max 25 hours/week)


























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 169925539197