Learn to surf whilst helping a family in Hawaii

Country

United States

Favourited 2438 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a happy family living on the Big Island of Hawai'i. We open our hearts and home to loving individuals and couples who would like to experience the way of life here while lending a helping hand. We love the Ocean! We enjoy surfing, body boarding, swimming, stand up paddling, skating, yoga, dance, travel, adventures and fun! We have two children: Isaiah--an amazing 13 year old boy and Taira--an artistic and delightful 10 year old girl.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors here learn to slow down and appreciate island life here on Hawai'i Island. There are many adventures to be had here, valleys to be explored and rich culture to experience. Hawai'i is a mixed plate of various cultures, especially Japanese, Philipino, Portugese and Hawaiian. Travelers here often explore National Volcano Park and its many offerings and may be lucky enough to experience fresh lava flowing. There are often beautiful hula performances to watch and lots of local flavors to be tasted in various avocado, ulu (breadfruit) and mango festivals. Travellers can learn to surf or stand up paddle and experience the magnificence and diversity of both mountain and ocean cultures here. A large part of the cultural exchange available here is a personal experience of Ohana and a deeper understanding of Living Aloha.

  • Help

    Help

    Aloha~ For this mutually beneficial exchange we request approximately 20-25 hours of work per week, per person.

    We truly appreciate people interested in helping our family and we enjoy sharing the beauty and bounty of Hawai'i. We most desire help in our kitchen preparing family dinners on weekdays and attending to general kitchen cleaning and maintenance weekly. We are very flexible and open minded. We are most interested in a happy couple who loves to work and travel together. We are looking for individuals who love preparing nourishing whole food meals for a family. We are not an entirely vegan household but we would like these weekly meals to be vegan. We welcome traditional meals from your hometowns as well. We request five healthy dinners prepared weekly; including meal planning, shopping, cleaning well and general kitchen maintenance. We prefer to eat organic and local whole foods as much as possible. We prefer grains and beans soaked. We welcome supplementary preparation of living foods also; juicing, sprouting, micro greens, energy balls, etc. Familiarity with fermented foods is a plus. We have many cookbooks and resources available. We have an Instant Pot, a second pressure cooker, a slow cooker, a Vitamix machine, a dehydrator, a Spiralizer, a Green Star dual auger juicer, an immersion blender and a food processor to help. We are a busy family who thrive with nutritional support and nourishment.
    At this time, it would be most helpful for a couple to come share the experience together. We would really like to have one person primarily attend to the food prep and kitchen while the partner works outdoors on our property, connecting with the aina (the land) so that it may provide for our family and community. This is incredibly helpful and time consuming! Hawai'i is lush and our one acre requires hard work and dedicated maintenance. We are growing gardens and we are looking for individuals already skilled in permaculture, natural farming and organic gardening to share and apply their knowledge. We are also interested in people who have building, carpentry and painting skills.

    There will be plenty of downtime and weekends off for relaxing and exploring this amazing Big Island we call home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, minimal Spanish and minimal American Sign Language and open to learning more

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in Captain Cook overlooking gorgeous and historic Kealakekua Bay, convenient to stores, parks and beaches. Our home is 20 minutes south of Kailua-Kona at a nice, cool elevation on the slopes of Mauna Loa. The closest beach is about a ten minute drive away.
    We offer a guest room and bathroom with a tub and shower on the lower level of our house that is accessible through private entry. We also have an outdoor shower with a stunning view of the ocean.
    We have a vehicle available for your personal use and grocery shopping. Gas money is not included. We provide stand up paddle boards and surfboards. Kayak, learn to surf, snorkel, swim with manta rays and body board if you are interested. You may also encounter our wild spinner dolphins and visiting humpback whales. Come experience the vast and diverse beauty of the sunny Kona side of the Big Island.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The meals offered are mostly vegan. We are not an entirely vegan household.

    We have a sweet, energetic mid-sized, mixed breed, male dog named Mauka living in the house with us.

    We prefer month long commitments and are open to longer stays if everyone is agreeable. We also appreciate the freedom to review our arrangement after a couple of weeks to make sure that all parties are happy. There are many other potential workaways and organic garden exchanges all around the Big Island if the fit is not ideal and expectations are not met.

    We are seeking a conscious and loving person or couple, drama free and no tobacco please.

    Finally, please note that our response rate is quite low. We are inundated with requests and find it challenging to keep up with responses with our very full schedules. We do our best to get back to everyone, but it's not always in the most timely manner. Thanks for understanding.
    ALOHA

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours

Wai'pio Valley
Sidney and A.J.
Mauka
Taira and Zea
Hilo side... Rainbow Falls
Taira and A.J.
Pu'uhonua National Park nearby
















Host ref number: 13833442224a