Sophie

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/11/2018 - 17/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Please note: My daughter Sophie and I share this account. Hence the different user name and the feedback for a 21 year old.
    My name is Jodie Woods. I live on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia with my two adult children and my two dogs. I teach Criminology at the University of Sunshine Coast and love to travel between semesters. My professional background is in child protection and I am passionate about providing safe communities for all children and young people, particularly in relation to International child sexual exploitation.
    I have travelled extensively and love to immerse myself in the local culture. I am a foodie (love to eat, terrible cook) and I enjoy getting to know people over a good meal. I am an adventurer and love to try new things. For my 50th birthday I trekked to Mt Everest Base Camp. I have worked with rescued elephants in Thailand and at risk children in Cambodia.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    My professional skills may not be particularly relevant to work away assignments but I am always happy to chat about what I do as I believe raising awareness on these issues is very important and we can do that by sharing our knowledge and experiences.
    I am a hard-worker who can work independently and demonstrate initiative. I am willing to tackle any job with enthusiasm. I am a very quick learner and am happy to take direction and constructive feedback. I love animals and I feel very relaxed with all animals (except rats!) and have had a lot of experience with a variety of domestic animals (i.e. dogs, horses, goats) as well as native Australian wildlife (mostly caring for orphaned possum joeys).
    I have very good communication skills and I am trained in conflict resolution. I also have a very positive outlook on life and I believe nothing is impossible as there is always a way to achieve anything.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    54

  • What else ...

    I am looking for somewhere quiet to recharge my batteries in preparation for next teaching semester. Would prefer rural, remote. Am an early riser, early to bed. I love hiking, outdoor activities and being in nature.
    References available on request. Would like to video chat to meet host before committing to a position.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Anti-tetanus vaccination

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback