Jessica

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Nepal, Sri Lanka

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/06/2018 - 27/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    482

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am a 29-year old Australian from Melbourne. I'm an independent, mature-minded traveller who has travelled around SE Asia, Central America and the United States. I've lived abroad in both the USA and in Mexico, in different working environments, and have experience living and working with people from diverse cultural backgrounds.

    I like spending extended periods of time in each place I travel (where possible) to get a feel for the people and culture of the place. I'm passionate about cultural experiences, meeting locals and having real experiences in the places I visit. This is where volunteering (and workaway) is the perfect medium for me!

    In my free time, I enjoy reading, hiking, yoga, scuba diving, sitting on the beach and eating all the food! I'm a pretty laid-back person and generally get along well with everyone. I'm not the sort of person that likes doing nothing and like to be kept busy. In Australia, I'm a bit of a workaholic, usually with more than one job to save like crazy for my next trip - so idle time isn't something I'm accustomed to. I'm self-motivated and take initiative to get things done (if only to avoid twiddling my thumbs and doing nothing).

    I've got a varied work history with jobs in retail, sales, NGO fundraising, office work and the travel/tourism industry. I also have many years of experience in the hospitality industry (restaurants, events, hotels) and as such I have great customer service skills in any environment! More recently, I have experience as an ESL Teacher for the last 3 years (1.5 years in Mexico, 1.5 years in Australia). I love teaching English as I enjoy helping my students learn and realize that English can really create opportunities for their future and change their lives and would love to be able to use this skill in future volunteering opportunities.

    Generally, I love working with people, whether that be customers, clients or students - I thrive when working with a good team of like-minded, motivated people who are working towards a mutual purpose.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Qualified and experienced English Teacher.
    Extremely organised - good at creating new organisation systems (physical and computer-based)
    Hospitality experience - Hotels.
    Tourism/travel agent experience.
    Have a Working With Children check from Australia.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Basic Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    I am up for trying anything! Very reliable and responsible individual who is passionate at succeeding at anything I try. Very hard-working, motivated and easy-going - I can get along well with almost anyone!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback