Eryk

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/10/2016 - 12/05/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    644


  • Description

    Hey There!

    My name is Eryk Matczak, I was born and raised in Toronto, Canada, and I have recently been bitten by the travel bug!

    I just graduated from university with a degree in Zoology, so I absolutely love working with animals and being outdoors. I have worked at zoos, nature centers, and on farms in the past. I'm an easy going guy, but if work needs to be done I'll get it done. I believe the key to life is balancing work time with relaxin time!

    I just recently went on a short road trip to Denver, Colorado with a buddy of mine, and it's inspired me to see as much of the world as possible. Along the way, I took a bunch of photos and videos, and in my free time I have been compiling them into videos. I really enjoy videography/editing and believe I have a knack for it.

    As for practical experience, my family and I have built a cottage and have been renting it out to guests during the summer months. Helping to build the cottage provided me with experience in working with tools, putting up drywall, painting said drywall, installing a wrap-around deck, making the beach area more accessible, etc. When guests leave at the end of their stay, we clean the cottage for the new guests to arrive to a tidy, welcoming abode. This includes tasks such as laundering the bed sheets, making the beds, vacuuming, mopping, and making sure everything is in tip top shape.

    In my free time, I try and be outside and active as much as I can. I love surfing. I know, in Canada? How's that even possible? Well where there's a will there's a way, you just have to catch the waves when storms come blowing in at just the right direction. Other than that, I love rock climbing, biking, running, canoeing, wakeboarding, and snowboarding. Literally give me a board of some kind and I'll be a happy camper :) Oh yeah, love to camp too!

    I'm also very environmentally friendly, and try to do my part to reduce my impact on this planet. I would love to one day own my own plot of land that is entirely sustainable, and it's my dream to own a few pet goats! I'm looking for any experiences that could introduce me to such a path, and I'd be glad to help out and learn the ropes of sustainable farming!

    Cheers

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    General Labour, Child Care, Animal Care, Painting, Gardening, Outdoor Maintenance (trails, landscaping, etc), Computer Skills, some Sewing, Music

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos


My Photo Album


Feedback