Mischa

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State (Holy See)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/12/2017 - 12/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2726

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!

    Will you be our next host and part of our epic journey across Europe together?

    My more detailed story is written further down, but for those needing the short and sweet of it; I'm traveling with son and dog --two fantastic companions. I cook well, clean to a high standard and am adept with a paint brush, basic gardening and anything that requires organisation. I teach English to a high level, I teach climate science and sustainability back home to 7-11 year olds, and am running workshops on sustainable business entrepreneurship for 10-16 year olds when I return to full time work in the summer. My NGO has won multiple green and community awards. I have a good understanding of social media management and have done a lot of radio work. I'm a writer and guest journalist in my spare time and also love to paint, create, sing and play guitar. I'm a busy person, but for now my time is free to apply the aforementioned skills to your needs as a host.

    The long version:

    I have mostly worked in the not so glamorous field of waste food, but as mentioned I'm also a teacher, writer and parent to one kind and considerate son of ten years, alomgside a wonderful dog of four. A few years ago, I decided to change everything. I gave up our house, our security and almost everything I owned to get out of a rut. At the time I was taking my son to school, heading to my office where I ran my small NGO saving edible food waste and feeding predominantly the vulnerably housed with it, then returning to collect my son after work to eat dinner and repeat the process day after day. I loved my job, so I knew closing my office down and working remotely was the goal, and that's what I did. But that was simply the beginning.
    The next stage was taking my son out of mainstream education. Inspired hugely by the likes of Ken Robinson, I took a leap of faith and deregistered my son when he had just turned nine. Our plan was to eventually move onto a sustainable houseboat our friends needed someone to look after and carve a new path for ourselves. We wanted to see if we could pull off a few months travelling across Europe with our dog, and using only sustainable public transport methods on a shoestring budget; as a third sector worker, I'm by no means rich, but I had some savings, some skills and a stack of ambition.
    For a short while, delayed by my dogs passport and issues with boat restoration for our future home, we floated about with a family member and close friends whilst planning this big adventure, and during that time, we landed a ten day post on the Norfolk border of England that turned into nearly four magical months. The gig was totally off grid, working for a wonderful women who shortly became a dear friend. Amongst many other tasks, we helped with setting up a forest school and also managing her Airbnb property. We adjusted well to the wood burning fires, the compost loo and the natural environment among the hornbeam and oaks, and I will always look back on my time there as a time off considerable growth and meaningful friendships.
    When the complications over our dogs passport were straightened out, within two weeks we left England on a ferry heading east.. It was the last day of October, and we've been travelling full time across eight countries ever since. As I write this, we are just days shy of our six month milestone. It's been monumental to us both. Words really can't describe it properly. We've made friends for life, and seen and learned so much about other cultures. From Holland to Belgium, central and southern France, across to the Swizz Alps we've picked grapes, ridden donkeys in the mountains of northern Italy, sailed the Adriatic seas to Croatia, witnessed the scars of war in Bosnia and tasted the fine food, picturesque landscapes and architecture of both Italy and Spain. And in a short space of time, we will start heading back north to the UK to reside back in Suffolk on a 42ft long houseboat which will finally be ready. By then, I hope to be finishing my book, and working back in my newly shaped job. But for now, we're looking for kind honest people, who are welcoming and willing to offer work for board so we can conclude the final few months of our great big adventure.
    Well done for getting this far! I do have a tendency to say a lot!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Hosting
    Novice Gardening
    Organising
    Social media content
    Networking
    Blogging
    Teaching

  • Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I've spent a number of years fighting food waste and hunger and created recycling projects for over seven years now, but my practical skills are much broader; there's really not many things I wouldn't turn my hand to.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, but will cook meat for others and I feed my dog chicken regularly, so I can handle meat.

Photos

Feedback