Arsen & Kelly Yohana

  • Serbia & Colombia
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Top Workawayer

Amigos (3)

Ver mi vídeo de perfil

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos


    Actividades que nos interesan:

    Boyacá, Santander, Caribe, Pacifico

    Nuestro próximo destino:

    Colombia - Desde Jun 2022 Hasta Nov 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción


    Me presento, soy Kelly Acosta o, Jeilet. Cuento con experiencia como voluntaria en Colombia y Ecuador con contactos que lo pueden certificar. De profesión soy Licenciada en educación con énfasis en ciencias sociales y desde hace 5 años me he dedico a las artes escénicas tanto así que, ahora viajo con una niña títere. También tengo conocimiento en muralismo. En los lugares que he sido voluntaria he realizado diferentes labores: maestra, he realizado diversos murales, he colaborado en la recolección de cosecha e incluso en Ocelote, Jama Ecuador estuve dirigiendo un encuentro de -Interiorización con nuestra corporalidad-, también he apoyado en distintas labores como impulsó de las fanpage, manejo de redes sociales, recepción (bastante), limpieza, jardinería y algo de bioconstrucción (poco en realidad) y otros.

    En voluntariados afines a mi profesión y gustos o, rodeados de naturaleza suelo durar bastante tiempo, si eso también está bien para los anfitriones.

    Por último, si requiere algún contacto referentes a mis anteriores voluntariados con gusto se los podría facilitar.


    About jobs, skills, experiences and my work ethic

    After I've graduated and took my diploma as a forest engineer at the Faculty of Forestry, I realized that the tough period was coming. A grey reality of life in Serbia. The hard studying was no guarantee for employment.
    So, in a ten years period before I left Serbia to search for a better place to live, I've tried myself in a very wide range of jobs, from pure manual ones to pure intellectual.
    I’ve enjoyed most in working as an instructor in adrenaline park, then in working for some time on various projects in my profession, then selling books on street, working with refugees for MSF... I worked also some less demanding jobs: trade, transport, cleaning objects, bartending, building... During last two years here, in South America, I worked a lot in tourism, especially in hosteling as a receptionist and in touristic agencies, selling the packages of tours... Beside paid jobs, I took part in various volunteering actions and those jobs were mainly physical, like: painting, digging, cleaning, taking care of animals etc. In my working experiences I can count growing plants and mushrooms and planting trees. There were also some writing articles, working on scanners, printers and copy machines, video editing, picking fruits, organizing hiking tours, preparing food, building boats (just one to be precise, but it was unforgettable experience)... I have worked with a very different tools, from hammer and shovel to motor chainsaw and electrical grinder. One thing is sure, I’m not afraid of hard work.
    I belong to type of people with a strong working ethic. I like job to be done as it should be, even if it needs more time. I work by the book, and I'm not big fan of improvisation. That doesn't mean that I'm not creative, but if there is a good, reliable and proven way to do the job, I won't be the one who reinvents the wheel. I’m a team player, but only if all team members are truly committed to the same goal. If that's not a case, I would rather do the job alone, just to be sure that it is done as it should be. I'm a fast-learner, and I’m not scared to ask if I'm not sure about something.
    I like to learn new skills, so I will prefer hosts from whom I can learn new things.

    About my previous Workaway experiences (READ THIS PLEASE)

    In last four years I participated in more than fourty (yes 40!) different Workaway projects, with a wide range of tasks. The majority of my experiences were very positive, some of them extraordinary positive. It was very hard to leave some places because I knew that I was leaving something incredible. On the other hand, there were a couple of not so great Workaways, usually because of lack of organization, too many working hours or lack of food.
    In order to avoid these experiences in the future, as an experienced volunteer, I'd like to give a couple of recommendations, addressed primarily to the new hosts:
    1) organize the job (plan our activities in advance, make a list, what things have to be done, how many persons for each task is necessary, how much time do you estimate is necessary for each task, what are the tasks that could be done on a rainy day, what are the priorities, what things do you need to provide before starting with the work etc...)
    2) provide the tools and materials (don't expect that we can do the magic with one hammer and one screwdriver... sometimes it is possible to improvise, but very often that's not possible, or it's just a unnecessary lost of time and energy)
    3) provide the food (if in your profile is written that you provide the food - do it; hungry volunteer can't work well)
    4) be patient (for most of the volunteers, especially the young ones, this will be the first time to do something, show them, explain them, give answers to the questions)
    In my personal case there are two important things I'm always concerned about: food and internet. As a long term budget backpacker I usually apply only for projects where I'll be completely covered with the food (however I can make some exceptions sometimes). It doesn't matter if it's prepared or I have to prepare it. I just don't like to be hungry and I don't like to spend my money on food if I work five or more hours a day. With the Internet the situation is different. I don't need it all the time, but I need it sometimes. Because of that I would appreciate very much if you put on your profile a real situation with the Internet so I could organize myself in advance and not to be unpleasantly surprised.
    My best experiences came from places where were more volunteers (so we had intensive cultural exchange), where there were some natural or historical sights near to be visited or from the places where I could learn some new skills. Your place doesn't have to have all of that, but if it does you'll probably go up to the top on my list of unforgettable Workaway experiences. :)

    About my future Workaway experiences

    I'm extremely interested in learning new things. However, there are not so many things I haven't tried so far, but here is the short list of some activities that I'd like to improve myself in or to try them for the first time, so if you have a project that involves any of these, please, feel free to contact me: cheese making, yogurt, kefir, kombucha, conservation of food, artesanal beer, honey production, mushroom cultivation, cacao production and making chocolate, medicinal plants, horses, bamboo construction, water management, composting, organic garden and permaculture... You've got the idea. :)

    If you want me to work more hours than what is written in your profile or if there are any other changes that I should be aware of, please warn me in a message in advance, as I'm very picky about these things. I can work 30h/week or even 36h (if I'm covered with food of course) but for such deal your project has to be something really special, a place where I'll be able to learn a new skill, or to experience something unique. Or it should be on a top top location. Don't ask me to cut the weed with machete for 36h a week, please, be respectful. My 25h are real, as I don't hang around wasting time, looking for tools, taking cigarette breaks, chat with other volunteers etc. I'm a serious, hard working volunteer and that's the reason I prefer fixed working hours when I can be fully committed to my job.

  • Intereses

    Deportes de aventura
    Yoga / bienestar
    Actividades al aire libre
    Trabajo de caridad
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Dibujo y pintura

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Some of known skills and abilities that may be useful are: computer work (MS Office, Internet, booking platforms), international driving license (regular cars and motorcycles), POS terminals, cash registers, climbing equipment, active use of English and Spanish language, data entry, experience with different kinds of mechanical and electrical tools, working with people (bars, hostels, shops)… But my greatest skill is good organization and planning ability. This highly effective skill has permitted me to travel for more than three years with a very limited budget.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Croatian: Fluido
    Serbian: Fluido
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Edad

    39 & 25

  • Nacionalidad

    Serbian & Colombian

  • Algo más...

    More details about me:

    My two main hobbies are mountaineering, reading and cooking. If there's a prominent peak close to your home I'll do my best to climb it. Also, I'll do my best to perfect my Spanish as soon as possible, so I could read my favorite South-American writers in their native language (I'm almost there). If I'm not outside exploring nature, I usually spend my free time in the kitchen. :)
    I am a vegetarian for last thirteen years. For ethical reasons. But I'm not from those aggressive ones. :)
    I basically don't drink alcohol (ocasional beer is ok or just to try new local drink). I don't smoke cigarettes, but smokers don't bother me.
    I love hitchhiking. This is probably the way I'll come to your place. :)
    I am covered with health insurance, no worries about that.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial