Help me develop my artist studio-home project in Åminnefors, Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 53 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Hi, I am Meri and I welcome you to help me in developing my house project.
    Currently it consists of helping / living in and renovating a unique building of cultural historical value in the small village of Åminnefors, southern Finland. The building is a functionalist style brick house, which was originally built to be used as a rural-store in 1938 (architect Ole Gripenberg). It is located on its own between two small roads right by the Mustioriver, with a hillside yard of 0.14 hektar.

    I have been renovating this house since 2021, so it is possible to live here fairly comfortably already. I myself moved in here in the beginning of the year 2023, and since then I been trying to turn this house homelike. Still there is plenty to do as the house is 300 square meters and I do most of it by myself, so I am always in need of a extra pair of hands.
    My aim is to be able to rent out part of the house in a near future. In the long run I hope to develop cultural activities in the house and to create creative solutions for harvesting rainwater, growing food in different ways and plenty of other things that Im still only beginning to dream up.

    Very shortly about me:
    I am an visual artist and art teacher working full time with my artistic practice. The rest of my time I enjoy spending cooking, renovating, resting, seeing friends or playing with my cat friend Vincent Scissorhands (who works in the house as a mouser). From time to time I get very excited about things (new or old), then I usually dive in to it head first, this could be anything from growing oyster-mushrooms or making macaroons.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am born in Sweden by Finnish parents, I moved to Finland 2006. Before I moved here I myself traveled around in the world for some years, looking for something... Now I have found this! So I'm very happy to finally be able to welcome you to this project, where we can exchange our current knowledge and learn from new experiences <3

  • Ayuda


    There is a wide range of tasks from very simply being a extra pair of hand to more advanced tasks depending on your experience, skills and motivation. I am also learning as I go along, so no particular experience or skills are required. At the same time I also warmly invite people with building experience to contribute their knowledge or skills to the project.

    Here are some examples of tasks:
    * build a kitchen
    * building a loft bed and wardrobe
    * installing doorframes
    * cleaning (from freshly dusty to vintage dirt)
    * surface work such as painting walls, ceilings, etc
    * carrying stuff, building material, furniture small and larger, etc
    * help me to plan and make decisions
    * refurbishing / mounting cornices
    * cleaning windows
    * refurbishing windows
    * planting flowers, gardening work
    * chopping wood /branches
    * sewing work, putting up curtains, etc
    * building terraces.
    * basic household tasks, cleaning, composting etc
    * having fun, being frustrated, doing things wrong - redoing them right
    ...and much much more ;)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    1-2 persons is able to get a private sleeping space, 2 or more will most likely share a large space.
    The house has dry toilet indoors.
    There is a wood heated sauna.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Åminnefors is a beautiful, quiet and tranquil place (though there is some occasional traffic on the roads outside the house), with forest areas and lakes around the corner as well as the Baltic Sea 1km away. The capital-city Helsinki is about 1h away with the train from the nearby town of Karjaa. You can get to Karjaa by bus or through great bike lanes (I got some basic bikes to borrow). The cultural villages of Fiskars 6,5km and Billnäs 3,5km are very
    picturesque and has cute cafes, nice people and some cultural events (+ very tasty chocolate). The closest supermarket is in Pohja 4,5km. Åminnefors has a downhill skiing facility (Påminne) and a golf resort (Nordcenter).
    I have a car, so catching a ride with me is also possible.
    There is a kayak to borrow.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    A net-connection for the house will be delivered by the provider very soon. Until then internet is available shared from my phone.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 993698966258

Comentarios (5)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Ayuda con huskies siberianos y otras cosas en Laponia, Finlandia
Help us around our small farm with sheeps, goats, chickens, reindeers and rabbits in Kuusamo, Finland