Welcome to this little patch of peaceful paradise; Karitane beach village.


Nueva Zelanda

158 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    Welcome to this little patch of peaceful paradise; Karitane beach village, a picturesque haven with surfing among the best in New Zealand.

    Kayaking, beach walks, snorkelling, fishing, gathering shellfish to eat, and learning of local Maori and colonial history.

    Population about 400, and with one quaint general shop that offers great coffee, ice creams, groceries, an array of interesting supplies, amidst a no plastic bag ethos. Homemade pizza three nights a week made in a wood oven right in the store.

    This is truly an unusually quaint and friendly village where the community is strong and supportive. Some say it's like the world was in the 1950's, but I think it's very NOW, but with values that have been lost in many parts of the world.

    I am mature age in numbers, but ageless in spirit, :) and have returned from six years away working in Australia and the Pacific. I am getting this cottage set up and want to improve the land and outbuildings.

    I am a health professional, and have worked in the most extraordinary locations in Australasia. I feel truly blessed for the range of experiences I have been challenged with.

    I am a grandparent, friend to many, and enjoy people more than anything, although animals are a close second!

    I am interested in Theatre ( I was a Playback Theatre actor for many years) Art House movies, Buddhist Philosophy, meditation, West African music ( the Festival Au Desert in Timbuktu was the best thing ever) adventures and experiences. I enjoy simple moments, but also love a night out theatre or dancing. I enjoy trying different foods and learning about other ways of life.

    I have travelled widely, ( Africa, Asia, Europe, Pacific) and mostly to remote locations, but the last three years i have returned to Ireland three times! Love it there, and love the craic of the Irish. I am of Irish, Scottish and Maori descent. I will no doubt be away travelling this year too ( no specific plans as yet)

    I have loads of references from House Sitting internationally, and I have previously been a host for other volunteer sites. I have also had a boutique adventure tourism company here in NZ, so am very focused on making sure people have a great experience.

    I love meeting people from around the world, and you are welcome to share your culture and stories with me.

    Comming to work for me here, will be relaxed, peaceful and fun. You can use my body- boards to go 'surfing'. I would take some time out to take you here and there, as is possible.

    You can just walk from the house ( it's 1 minute back from the river/sea view) and then on to an estuary and a surf beach. There is a wonderful headland which the site of a traditional Maori fortified village, and it makes for a stunning 20- 30 minute walk.

    You will have your own small double bedroom, but share bathroom and kitchen with me. Unlimited wifi, streaming internet TV.

    This opportunity would suit a cheerful, relaxed and independent person who can enjoy a garden full of birds, beach village life, a laugh or two, and the simple things in life.


  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have worked amongst people from many cultural backgrounds, and I offer a genuine interest in others.

    I am a deeper thinker and love to chat about your world views, and I am willing to share my lifestyle with you.

    I can show you how to gather Kaimoana/shellfish ( Maori word for seafood) as it is not polluted here the seafood is safe to eat, we can make fritters if you wish. I can talk with you about the protected areas and restrictions of the fisheries.

  • Ayuda


    Gardening; some light work like lawns, weeding, small hedge, helping me sorting stuff in storage in the garden sheds, tidying cupboards, cleaning out the glasshouse.

    I welcome you to cook :) or share cooking if that's your thing.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    I live in a cute two bedroomed cottage. You will have a bedroom to yourself. It's a small double room with comfy bed. Mostly suit a single, as the cottage is small, but I am happy to discuss a couple for a particular project.
    I can provide towels. There is a washing machine you can use. There is a good shower ( no bath)

    You are responsible for cleaning your spaces and cleaning up as you go in the shared areas. Food will be available for you; a simple breakfast, casual lunch, ( but some days you might buy your lunch at the local shop) , and we can share a meal in the evening. I am not 100% vegetarian, but can cater for a meatless diet. Vegan may be a bit more challenging, but if you take charge, it could be a winner.

    We can work out the cooking as we go. I am flexible as to if it's you or me cooking, but sharing it is great too. I feel that as adults, it should be fun and no burden for either party.

    Eating out is your own responsibility, as is any alcohol you might wish to quaff of an evening.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is not great local transport here. Daily buses into Dunedin city ( an hour away by bus, 30 mins by car) and no taxis or Uber. From the main road village, ( 5 km away) there are more buses into Dunedin, so that offers a few more options.

    You can come with me into Dunedin for shopping, music etc. Having your own car would be a bonus, but not essential perhaps.

    But you might want to think of your time here as bit of a retreat, and there are great walks around the village. You can take my boogie boards and go play in the sea, or go have a coffee at the local shop which is quaint and cute.

    I enjoy times of solitude here there, so will appreciate that, but everything is able to be discussed, no problem.

    Depending on the work you are here for, but I think that up to a one week stay would be ideal. I may be able to negotiate with Workawayers who have other skills or time frames to consider.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 988715267353