Help me with renovation project, gardening on my small farm near Nelson, New Zealand



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Welcome to my host information.
    I am a woman, enjoy a fit and healthy lifestyle where I run a 20 acre small farm with lovely gentle purebred Wiltshire Sheep in the beautiful Upper Moutere Valley near Nelson.

    One of my profile photos is sadly at a whale stranding in Golden Bay. My daughter and husband, I am not in the photo as i am always the person who takes the photos.

    These amazing animals strand relatively regularly about 3 hours' drive from us. If it happens and you are here, we will head there immediately to help. It is the most incredible experience. If we can save them or some of them, we have helped nature & our planet. I'm big into that.

    I took my workaway family on a small boat cruise to Split Apple Rock yesterday. This cruise has the most incredible scenery you can possibly imagine. The skipper Dave said a few days ago a Killer Whale had swum under a couple of Kayaks and he has seen Whales regularly. He encourages his passengers to hand feed the young Yellow eyed Mullets that arrive right beside the boat as soon as he drops the anchor. This experience does cost you but is not expensive and my Workawayers were thrilled. Two of them dived into 17 deg winter water! We had a very excited and happy car full on the way home.

    I love animals and have a dog & cat who follow us all over the farm, sheep and horses. Recently my family rescued a tiny baby feral kitten that had been shot! She has had an operation and is now higly active and playful. Her name is Bam Bam she is loved by all except my lovely older cat!
    I have also added 3 Bantams to our farm. Bantams are a small fancy chicken and we hope they lay us pretty tasty wee eggs.

    We have many NZ native birds as we have planted trees like wild cherries to encourage birds who often fly low over us. I
    regularly feed them a sugar syrup then sit on the deck to enjoy watching them feast close up. They also rob my large orchard which I'm always happy to share with them our big Fig tree is loaded with beautiful ripe figs and it's a scramble to get our share. The birds take the lions share especially on the middle & upper branches but there are plenty for all to eat healthy and well.

    As I write this, there are gorgeous little fat black balls of fluff on long spindley legs with feet that seem already adult following their Pukeko parent's in a paddock by the house, Just delightful.

    We also love watching our families of ducks who nest on our pond each year, rearing up to 12 ducklings. Such devoted and attentive parents. Quails are another who are often guarding lare groups of precious chicks, constantly making their distinctive clicking noises to reasure their babies.
    My personal favorite are the large Kereru which are our beautiful native pigeons, the Tui & Bell bird not forgetting the tiny friendly Fantail who almost lands on you as they flutter around us for minutes at a time. Being in nature is rewarding beyond words.

    My adult children live close by and are a great source of help, fun & enjoyment. We are essentially family people who draw other people into our family.

    I enjoy meeting people to find out about their country & culture and sharing our interests.

    The farm, family, animal health, gardening, cooking and a happy lifestyle are my reasons to rise early and seize the day however I recently developed a medical condition limiting the strength in my hands so now require strong young hands to help me do the many different tasks like gardening which really would benefit from regular attention.

    I offer you free accommodation, also you are welcome to use some vegetables and fruit from the garden, the rest of your food
    you will have to provide yourself also your toiletries & towels etc.

    you will learn many new skills and one of the best experiences of your life. Lifestyle in the country like all lifestyles can be hazardous so please make sure you have accident insurance as accident can happen and I cannot be financially responsible should anything happen while you are here.

    I believe happiness is infectious and should be shared. Animals and humans alike. I can call out to my sheep and they come running! They often call out to me when I'm hanging out washing or gardening and they see me!

    We have a beautiful paint pony called Meeka who is too old to ride these days but enjoys being pampered, a young child's treasure about to be broken in called Flossie. We bred Flossie here. Nearly last but not least, NZ Thoroughbred Called Stella that my daughter and granddaughter own and ride. We still own Flossies mother Candy, but she is away teaching children confidence at a nearby riding school.
    Our property is Windsor Stud.

    We have bred bred some of NZ top
    show and jumping ponies who are known nationally as lovely gentle ponies ideal for young children to ride, jump & show. These days, I have shifted focus to produce the best Wiltshire sheep i can.

    I need help weeding, general home, and property maintenance. bringing horse manure from paddocks to vege gardens & helping us watering, digging etc. Continue painting my house & restoring a large caravan.

    Never bored always projects so If you are keen we can learn new skills from each other.

    I live very close to Able Tasman with beautiful golden beaches and super special places like Farewell Spit, which is the northernmost point of the South Island. You can visit the lighthouse there on a guided tour bus from Collingwood.

    Also in the area is Wharariki Beach. Highly recommend you visit this beautiful beach that has sea caves with large tree limbs jammed into the roof from the great crashing sea's probably years ago. Obviously important to time a visit at low tide. We have been the only people there sometimes but with tourism booming I can't guarantee this now.
    It is a bit of a walk although easy going from the car park to the beach. Truly
    magical experience.

    Vineyards are in my area with the world famous Neudorf Vineyard directly across the road from me and award winning Peckham's Cider brewery right next door to me so good opportunities for casual work.
    This is rich fertile land with a ideal climate for agriculture.

    Upper Moutere village is 5mins drive from me. There is a small grocery store, Bakery which make the best ever pies, Chinese takeaway, Coffee Shop, Petrol station and service station, The oldest Hotel in NZ, Primary school, Beautiful old church plus Event centre with a great gym, Artisan outlets. Its a great little village.

    Situated only 38km from Nelson CBD yet right in the middle of Kaiteriteri golden sands beach and The Rainbow Ski Field, which is very close to 3 beautiful lakes, Lake Rotoriti, Lake Rotoroa & Lake Rangatahi.

    Really our region has it all and I feel proud to live in this locality and I'd like to share it with you. Come and live the good life with us we're looking forward to meeting you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We treat people as our extended family. We want you to have a great experience and come back another time. We have had many foreign students over the years and they have kept in close contact with us some now have their own children and we think of their children as our grandchildren. Some come back to visit us time after time from countries far away.
    So very special for us all.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I really need help in the gardens. This could be to mow lawns and gardening. putting in vegetables for our winter table and preparing ground for planting spring veges. I also need help weeding pot plants and propagating them.

    I will teach you to identify & eradicate some weeds that are toxic to animals or take over my pasture.

    I can teach you how to prepare the gardens to grow and harvest seasonal vegetables fruit and herbs.

    I'd like help to get my winter vegetable garden planted and bed down another garden ready for spring planting potatoes and seasonal fruit & vegetables. My two or three Apple trees should have been thinned long ago as they are laden with fruit & need pruning soon.

    I believe strongly in recycling, zero waste if possible, sharing knowledge and kindness to our planet.

    Lambing takes place in September and October which is always a busy time for me, demanding when I have to bottle feed new lambs. I have been known to bring them into the house with baby nappies on but I try not to do this these days as they then identify with humans and not their sheep flock.

    Working with farm animals or on the farm is not what I am asking for there are tasks around the house and gardens. Understanding each others strengths and struggles makes for harmonious living.

    There is always good times and plenty to do to make you want to get out of bed see our planets very first awesome sunrises accompanied with bird song & sunsets with beautiful colours and patterns to delight you. Let us enjoy each day.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    English is my main language that I can help you with and I'll enjoy learning yours. I am trying to learn our Te Reo Maori language at the moment.

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own space and privacy. We have a caravan set in a lovely small bush area that is close to the house but private. You are welcome to eat with us or take your food to the caravan or your own accommodation. The caravan is warm and comfortable and will accommodate 2 people if you have a travelling companion.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I am not religious and do not like people trying to convert me to their religious beliefs. I respect your religious rights and choices so please respect mine.
    Depending on your culture and what you would like to do with your time off I will do my best to help you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have Starlink Internet freely available for your use before or after your required working hours.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes we have room for you to park your van on the farm.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 869535419733

Comentarios (10)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help needed with Gardening, Bananas and Animals in Doubtless Bay Northland, New Zealand
Help our busy family wih daily life in Tauranga, New Zealand