Come and help our family living in a co-housing community in California, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

100 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This summer 2019...we are a household of two - myself, a teacher for the Deaf/hard of hearing on summer break and my adult daughter, a student of holistic health/massage therapy. We live in a type of intentional community called "cohousing" in Paso Robles California on the central coast about 35 miles from the ocean. We share our home with an energetic Australian Shepherd puppy and an indoor/outdoor cat. Our cohousing community is one of 36 homes where we share resources, socialize, enjoy eating together a couple times a week, and help each other out as needed. My neighbors are multi-generational the youngest is about 4 months old and our most "senior" neighboring in his late 80s! I have hosted cyclists through another hosting site from all over the United States and other countries as well. We have really enjoyed spending time getting to know about other countries and cultures through these visiting cyclists!

    Paso Robles is located in what is known as wine country with a growing tourist industry. We are located about 35 miles from the coast/beach and a number of beautiful small coastal towns. The city of San Luis Obispo is also 30 miles away with many wonderful restaurants and bars, cute shops, and a fun Thursday night farmers market. There are many hiking trails in our area both inland and along the coast, opportunities to kayak and surf, farmers markets, music events, and great summer time weather.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our cohousing community is one of hundreds found around the world. Cohousing was first started in Denmark in the 1960s. I would love to share the culture around intentional living along with all the beautiful places to visit on the central coast. My neighbors LOVE to meet visitors and share their stories and time as well. Languages spoken in our neighborhood include German, Spanish, Swedish, and Italian. I speak English and also use American Sign Language.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The school year is going to keep us very busy so our projects have to go on hold till next summer May through August!

    We have taken care of much of our landscape needs but still have some details to tend to. The next project is to do painting of the inside of the house; kitchen, stairwell, and upstairs hallway. We also have a wire fence in need of repair and possibly help around the community for my neighbors could be arranged.

    Our very energetic mini Australian puppy always needs someone to play fetch or take him for walks. We're working on puppy training and "listening" so help with that would be great. Must love dogs to be here! ;-)

    With school starting mid-August, I would love to share cooking as our days will be busy.

    *Our family has a beach home that is currently rented out and in need of some work as well with landscape and fence repair. The house is 70 years old and cute as can be but also high maintenance. For someone who has built or replaced a wood fence, there is a fence at this home that needs your attention.*

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a 2-story 4 bedroom 2.5 bath home with a beautiful view of the hills and sunset. We have a furnished guest bedroom upstairs with a full size bed, dresser, large closet, lots of natural light, and wifi access. The room has a nice view of oak trees and hilly area across the street. There is a ceiling fan in the room and we also have air conditioning as it can get warm during the day but temperatures cool off over night. There is a full bathroom (with shower and tub) upstairs you would share with my daughter when she's home. Full access to the kitchen and refrigerators are available to prepare meals and snacks. We can share cooking several nights a week and you/we can attend community meals (2 times a week) if you'd like. I try to eat as "vegetarian" and healthy as possible. But meat cooking and eating is fine too! We have a couple comfy couches downstairs with TV access and a great sitting area in the front yard with seating, fire pit, and a sunset view.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many beautiful places outdoors to explore. We have small town type public transportation and also Uber plus Lyft drivers available. Myself and my neighbors are always out and about visiting farmer markets, concerts, restaurants, art galleries, and local events so finding a ride is an e-mail away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 877243445939