Off grid Homestead in Tulla, Ireland

  • 189 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This is an off grid Homestead since 1998.
    Currently we live here with our two sons, ages 11 and 9 and our two granddaughters, ages 3 and 5. Six older children were raised here and have flown out into the world. We've been busy, are busy raising a family.
    We are now working towards finishing the building projects. The house and the barn are underway and need a push to get done. Also there is a good bit of maintenance work planned.
    The various Homestead projects roll through the year, from the willow harvest to sowing the garden, working the soil, milking the goats, weeding to cutting the turf, harvesting and preserving for the cellar, baking bread, cooking on the fire, collecting wood and chopping it. There's never a dull moment and lots to learn.
    Thomas and myself, Jacintha, we're a homeschooling/ unschooling mix. Child care is a constant in our home. Food preparation and doing dishes form the heart of our days, with song and busy family life.
    Thomas is a Homestead expert, he loves his daily cold dip and works tirelessly and steadily keeping animals cared for, fires lit, trees planted, the yard tidied and everything in order. If you're interested in off grid living, sustainability and building, you couldn't find a more experienced person to work with.
    Jacintha is the mother glue, organising community events in the Round House on the land, the women's circle at the New Moon and the weekly parent and toddler group (currently we're taking a year sabbatical from organising gatherings to focus on the home and family), forever attempting to get on top of the household tasks, while giving a heartfelt welcome to many with hearthy homegrown meals, homeschooling and dreaming of one day writing that book about Women's Mysteries guided by the Wheel of the Year, and practising more homeopathy and Reiki/ Seichem.
    We're looking for workawayers who may have some experience in life and with living off the land already. If you are a mature person, please consider us as a host. Yet, all with an interest in the Great Turning, who volunteer for simplicity might enjoy some time helping us and tasting a life without much electronic technology.
    ps there is almost no phone coverage here. You're not completely without but it'll be more limited than you can probably imagine. Offline is the new luxury and we are proud to be low tech.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You could learn about living off-grid, simple techniques to do wholesome agriculture, anthroposophy (home-education), co- counselling (talking stick/ supportive listening), healthy home grown good growing, harvesting and cooking. We live near the Burren, national park, Thomas offers guided mountain walks. You can learn scything, milking goats, gardening, making hay, you can learn about the Wheel of the Year and how to create a better (post-capitalist) culture to save the world!! You can learn how to create more meaningful connected communication with the people in your life through the circles here. And what can we learn from you? We welcome your passions and your gift to the world.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The help we welcome is mostly related to growing food, collecting fuel (wood and turf), harvesting the willow, building and maintenance of the home house, playing with/ caring for the home- educated children (we offer them a mix of unschooling and anthroposophy), and general day to day tasks like animal care, harvesting, preparing food, helping with events, keeping fires going and collecting water from the well, cleaning the compost loo, light domestic help etc.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We're a Dutch speaking household. We all love to learn more Irish.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will live with us as a member of our family. It depends on availability at the time you are here if that means you will have a room to share or by yourself. All meals are shared in the family kitchen. Breakfast around 8am, warm meal in the middle of the day, bread meal or soup for evening meal, with snacks and tea time in between the meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live remotely and there's plenty of opportunity to take walks or go for a cycle (you can borrow a bike and a map). Day trips to any of Ireland's beautiful locations are possible. We can bring you to Gort or Ennis from where trains and buses go further afield.
    We are looking for helpers that are interested in the type of help listed above, those that keep their eyes open to see what needs doing and enjoy jumping right in.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We've plenty of campervan space.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 756158731746

Comentarios (3)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Gardening, cleaning, maintenance help in Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Explore every corner of Ireland and help with horses in Mayo, West of Ireland