Come to Tennessee and help make my off grid property sustainable, USA


Estados Unidos

19 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    This is a different opportunity than most workaway experiences, to work with a Catholic hermit in the mountains of Tennessee. The hermit is a traditional priest. He recently started a project of making a small property self sufficient with its own water, power and food. This is a good opportunity to learn from a rather skilled man.

    About the property:
    This property is in its primitive stage of self sustainability. It is a 3+ acre lot located in the north eastern mountains of Tennessee. The far majority of the land is forest. The only thing that can be heard on this land is a running brook and nature. If someone cannot handle such natural tranquility, then it is better they stop inquiring into this host and move on. There are few neighbors, no traffic and a trip to town is a half to 45 minutes drive. A trip to town is only taken a few times a week for material needs. This property does not have cell phone reception (except at the top of the mountain - 8 min hike), no wifi, no TV reception and even radio stations are very weak. It is a true severing from the modern world. Since the hermit is a religious priest, he can only accept men. No offense to women or couples, it is just that it is not appropriate for a religious man to have women on the property - vice versa would be just as true.

    The property has some flat areas, but for the most part it is slightly hilly. A spring that provides 2 lps of fresh drinking water (at the lowest time of the year) flows by the property. It flows out of the hill which this property sets next to. The spring water is 99.9% pure, 7.8 in ph and averages 56 degrees in temperature, meaning it is a very deep source of healthy water. The only down fall is that this portion of land faces NW. The sun is limited except at the top part of the back property.

    Off grid power:
    At this moment the power source is solar, a hydro system in the working and supplemented, when needed, by a diesel generator and landline. The landline was installed for the year round greenhouse, incase it needs extra heat and lighting in the colder months. Most of the cooking, hot water and heating is done with wood. A solar hot water heater is in the making for the warmer months. The idea is to eventually do away with all of these man made forms of conventional electricity and employ the following.

    Pyramid technology:
    Few know the power and health benefits obtained from pyramids. Most think that they are some form of mystical power or of alien creation. Nothing could be further from the truth. Pyramids are nothing more than a large antenna to collect the most important, safe and healthy power source known as scalar energy. The first builders copied their design found in nature. The hermit has been working with this form of ancient technology for years. There are plans on building many on the property for the following reasons - to calm the natural weather around the property, preserve food, health reasons (scalar restores our dna), rectify water, energy and many other reasons.

    Natural medicine:
    We live in an artificial medical world bent only upon monetary profit from sickness, which is amply demonstrating that it was never intended for health nor designed by God. God created in nature all the medicine we need to sustain the body and combat illness. This property with its year round greenhouse and restored soil will make that possible. The hermit is also experienced in various natural therapies such as homeopathy, ozone, .........

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This site cannot provide the typical modern luxuries of today, but it can provide helpful skills and necessary knowledge of how to live relatively self sufficient, healthy and more importantly, spiritually. The hermit is more than happy to teach what he has learned in his years. Not all of these can be taught in a given visit. His experience entails the following - auto mechanic, carpentry, heavy equipment operation, plumbing, electrical, architectural design, art, sewing, making of wine and beer, off grid energy and bio source fuels, basic farming, biodynamic gardening (basics at this moment), back to eden gardening, permaculture design (still learning), welding, landscaping, pyramid tech and some other simpler trades.

  • Ayuda


    For the land to sustain, it needs to provide its own source of energy, furnish food year round, medicine and shelter. This 3 acre plot is sufficient to sustain. Some of the trees will have to be cleared for raising animals. A small vineyard is planned for the hill. Other fruit baring trees are also intended to be planted. The existing old home will be torn down and its lumber and materials will be used to build a year round greenhouse on the top of the hill, along with a small shop and another cabin. The greenhouse should be able to grow citrus plants, natural herb medicine, hopefully cacao plants for chocolate and coffee, along with the usual vegetables. Where the older home sits, there will eventually be a summer garden, worm farm and land for the farm animals. The property will primarily be off grid. Pyramids will be built for various reasons. The spring will flow into a trout pond which is almost finished in order to provide fresh fish. Farm animals such as chickens, bees, pigs, goats and rabbits will provide food and natural fertilization. The homes will be rather small and low in energy consumption. One such home is almost finished. A chapel is planned. Its walls will be made with sand bags and stucco siding. Workawayers will not be here for any form of employment but rather to learn how to accomplish these interesting projects and learn new trades. Also helpers will not be asked to help with any activity related to business activities or growing produce intended for sales.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    Living accommodations for workawayers:
    At the moment there is a 2002 35' Holiday Rambler motorhome for guests. It is fully equipped with a bath and a half. It does need some minor repairs. Hopefully the first few guests invited here can help in these repairs. Eventually this will be sold and an actual guest cabin will be built to provide for accommodations.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Since he does not have internet service at the farm, he asked that those who enquirer to please be patient for a response. He will respond when he has access to service. He asked that the inquirer include his skills and availability.

    Arrival and pick up:
    The closest town at this time (because the closer road over the mountain is closed) is Sneedville. However the larger towns of Rogersville and Morristown will probably have a bus stop.

    This area has a lot of old logging roads for hiking. A river is only 5 minutes from the farm. A beautiful place for swimming, fishing and boating. This area also has caves and unique rocks, old homesteads and farms. Some date back to the civil war.

    Thank you for taking the time to reading this.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 684277682858