Share your time and passions with us our at our home on the north shore of Kaua'i, Hawaii!

Country

Estados Unidos

1065 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    23  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    509

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    99.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We're a family of 5 living on the north shore of the incredible island of Kaua'i, next to Hanalei Bay. Our three kids were born in 2013 and 2014. Generally, we have 2-3 guests visiting - and a month, if not two, has become the ideal minimum stay.

    The best way to think about living with us is to consider yourself as part of our "mini-community," although someone called staying with us a "family internship," and that rings true as well.

    You'll want to be sure you are in a stage of life where you enjoy having kids around and a desire to hang out with and teach them. However, guests are not responsible for parenting our kids and we are not looking for au pairs.

    Our guests help us with logistics (especially food prep and clean up) and homeschooling. We've identified some great curriculums and many visitors have learned how to teach both reading and math.

    Guests are also welcome, but not required, to help with any special projects they might be interested in. Past projects have included helping build a yurt, a solar heater for a swimming pool, and extra rooms in the garage at our past home.

    After the logistics are covered, we love to see people sharing their passions. Among other things, we've had art classes, yoga classes, chess tournaments, improv, dancing, singing, and a lot of hanging out in the garden. Since we came to Hawaii in June, we try to go to the beach every late afternoon to play and surf.

    Prior to arriving here we spent three years in Thailand, two in Spain (where we created a 5 apartment community), and and three next to San Francisco, where we planned to settle until the pandemic nudged us to Hawaii - an unintended silver lining.

    We now live in a large 4 bedroom rental house with room for a small garden (just getting started), some slack lines, a trampoline, an enormous sand volley ball court and access to a shared pool and tennis court. We keep 3 to the 4 bedrooms open for interesting long term guests.

    Adults in the house rotate cooking duty every two days when they also take responsibility for managing set up and clean up of breakfast, dinner, and, when there is no school, lunch. We try to cook 3 times a week on MWF and stock the fridge with prepared food that can easily be reheated.

    Most days, we try and stick to a routine, which helps both us and the kids. It looks like this:
    - 7 or 8am - Breakfast
    - 8:30 to 11:30 - Writing, Math and Reading homeschool (the kids are in public school 2-3 days a week).
    - 12:30 - Lunch
    - 1:30 to 4:30 - projects, play time, misc.
    - 4:30 to 7 - beach, soccer field, surfing/boogie boarding.
    - 7:30pm - Dinner
    - 8:00pm - Kids go into the bedroom at 8:00pm, freeing up the common areas of the house for the adults.

    If this sounds like something you'd like to be part of, please tell us more about yourself, your skills, aspirations, etc.

    Many Thanks!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're unusual in that we feel so strongly about living in a more communal way. In our last homes in Madrid, and near San Francisco, we regularly had 3-5 people eating meals with us every day - with 5 languages between us. Here, the kitchen table seats 7 or 8. Our family is a mix of Irish American and Northern Thai.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We look for interesting people and think it important to fit the tasks to the person and their skills. We try to have two or three people living with us at all times, which we've found is also enjoyable for the guests.

    We have a wide range of tasks you can help with - including:

    1) Leading food preparation and cooking. Beyond the cooking and serving rotation we do among all the adults, you can take extra shirts in the kitchen if you wish to, and count it toward your exchange.

    2) Lead/Teach after school programs - on a topic you'd like to share or teach. Music, Art, Dance, Math, etc.

    3) Help with morning (before lunch) homeschooling - we have good curriculums in reading, math, writing, etc.

    4) Help lead sports or physical skill-practices like basketball, soccer, surfing, etc.

    We are most appreciative of people who naturally love to lead and teach.

  • Languages

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Thai: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    It really depends on who is staying with us at the time, with a first come first choice policy. Most people stay in either of our three guest rooms, with big windows, though the downstairs living room has extra space if we fill the bedrooms.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will be in what some consider the best part of Hawaii - the north shore of Kauai, next to Hanalei Bay for a wide range of swimming, paddling, and surfing options.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Given there is a pandemic, you'll be joining our bubble. So if you need to make a living while with us, online work is a necessity.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Max of 5 hours a day and 5 days a week.

A Children's Program Event

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)



















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 943732726226