Off-grid living in Yukon, northern Canada

Country

Canadá

240 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Are you willing to experience "THE North"? Then keep reading!
    We live in an off-grid cabin, by a 12km-long lake and 2,000m mountains all around, about 30 minutes from the City of Whitehorse in Yukon. We share our life with 14 sleddogs (+ a labrador dog), about 20+ wolfs which we can hear howling at night once in a while on the other side of the lake, about a million fish that you can see jumping in the evening in summer time and a few bears.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn about lifestyle in Yukon, which is a bit different than everywhere else ;p

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I'm looking for somebody to help me set the guest cabin (a little bit of painting, building an outhouse) and the dog kennel (Install posts and build a fence around the dogs to protect them against wolfs and porcupine) and taking care of the dogs when we're away (feeding, watering, scooping).
    Since I'm working during the day, you would be mostly working by yourself. You would be a good fit here if you are independent, you are seeking quietness (there isn't very many people around!). Also if you're interested, you can come help me train the dogs on ATV in the summer/Fall.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a cabin for yourself (see picture) but you need to help us finish setting it up (that would take a few days I think). Until the cabin is ready, we have a wood-stove heated canvas tent for you. The cabin is 12x14 with a king bed, wood stove and kitchen area. Hopefully it will have a deck and a fire-pit, if you build it ;p

    Some electricity and Internet is available at my cabin. Showers are available in town. I'm going to town several times a week and can bring you back and forth if you don't have a car. The cabin is accessible by car in the summer, but a 4x4 is probably a good idea. In the winter, it depends on the snow conditions.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a canoe that you can borrow to go paddling/fishing/hiking from the lake and a few very willing dogs you can take with you hiking all around. There are lots of mountains around to go and explore, right from the cabin.
    We mainly eat wild game meat that we hunt ourself, well give some to you if you like.

    The Yukon accept people with no need to self isolate only from British Columbia, Northwest Territory and Nunavut right now.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 633561522517