Help needed in the woods on the hill in Villaviciosa, Spain

Country

España

165 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/04/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    154

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 67 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    The finca is on a hillside facing south on the north coast of Asturias ( 10 min drive to the sea...)
    We are Gabrielle and Ben (my 7 year old Son is also here every 2 months or so)

    The finca is 320 meters above sea level with luverly views of the mountains, including the Picos de europa...
    The most beautiful morning are when the cloud hanges in the just the valleys with just a few peaks poking out, feels a bit like the Himalayas or something! :-)

    I, Ben am a carpinter/builder and ingeneral am busy most the week attempting to build other people dreams however when Sol is here I am a lot more free :-)
    I am aiming to start working les this year as I have recently got permission to build/repair the building that we have here and there is a lot to do !...

    Gabi is a sculptor of woos and is always in the middle of lots of projects, he's a nice laid back guy...
    He came to stay for a few weeks and never left.

    My Son Sol is here every few months and is a ball of energy and keen on everything, exploring the woods in the area , making things in the workshop building stuff ... you name it !

    We have a large van which has a woodburner in which if free for people to stay in , also plenty of space to camp...there is also a communal space where there is a decent kitchen etc...
    We also have a compost toilet and a fire bath for washing... also washing machine..

    The finca is 1 Hecter with some terraces cut out near to the buildings.
    At the moment the place is a bit of a jungle , the vegatble patch is a little overgrown and we are very keen to get it more in order for this year.. its a continual evolution!

    Spring
    We enjoy cooking , playing music, exploring the area (we have a lot of paths through the woodland here..
    Lots of nature and animals, we have a young dg and cat here . Acacia and Euci

    There is also here a old stone oven for cooking Pizza, bread cake etc, its awsome.

    We welcome people from all walk of life, do lease come visit for a few weeks.

    We are open to the possibility of people staying on for longer periods of time....
    I speak english and pretty good spanish , Gabrielle most just Spanish...
    We try to eat good food and can cater for vegetarians

    Any questions do get in touch :-)


    Nuestra finca está ubicada en un monte orientación al Sur de la costa norte de de Asturias (10 minutos a la costa).
    Nosotros Ben , Gabi y Sol (tiene 7 años) que viene de visita cada dos meses por un mes.
    Aquí tenemos un altura de 320 metros con una vista preciosa, tenemos las montanas grandes de los picos de Europa. Las mañanas más impresionante es cuando tienes la niebla que se ve desde abajo dentro de todo los valles, también se ve algunos picos saliendo, parecido a los Himalayas .
    Yo Ben soy Carpintero/Constructor, en general estoy ocupado trabajando durante todo el día, con varios proyectos pero tengo plan de pasar más tiempo por mi finca comenzando el mes de marzo, ya que desde hace poco empezamos a reparar/modificar/ arreglar las dos viviendas aquí en la finca y trabaje fuera durante todo este año!

    A Gabi le gusta tallar en madera y en general un chico simpático y tranquilo. Vino a pasar un par de semanas aquí y hasta hoy nunca se fue!
    Mi hijo está aquí cada unos meses.. Esta un bola de energía siempre empezando proyectos, tallando madera, usando herramientas, pasando el area cerca con su arco y explorando.
    Tenemos una furgo grande, una Mercedes vieja, con estufa de leña y una cocina pequeña, una cama grande, este espacio está disponible para los voluntarios, tanto para dormir y uso en general. También tenemos espacio para acampar …
    También tenemos un espacio comunal con cocina y salón/espacio cómodo dentro de una de las naves.
    Aquí contamos con un Baño seco, bañera de fuego ! y lavadora de ropa.
    La Finca tiene 1 hectaria más a menos con algunas terrazas cerca de las viviendas. Ahora es un poco jungla …, nuestra huerta está un poco decaída pero tenemos ganas de que vuelva revivir … una evolución que continua! Primavera !
    Disfrutamos de cocinar, tocar música, explorar la área (tenemos muchos caminos por el bosque aquí) y varias playas guapas no tan lejos. Es posible llegar al pueblo caminando aprox. una hora bajando, pero un poco más de tiempo para volver! Mucha naturaleza y muchos animalitos del bosque, nosotros tenemos una gata y una perrita.
    También tenemos un horno de piedra para cocinar pizza, pan, tarta …
    Bienvenido toda la gente de todo los caminos de la vida , estan invitados a pasar una semana o dos aquí. Estamos abierto a la posibilidad de personas con ganas de pasar un tiempo largo aquí.
    Hablo ingles y bastante bien español , Gabi solo habla español y Sol muy bien los dos idiomas.
    Tratamos de comer sano en lo posible, no somos vegetarianos pero no tenemos problema en compartir comidas vegetarianas/veganas.
    Cualquier inquietud preguntar sin problemas! Todas preguntas bienvenidas!







    We are situated at the top of a wide south facing valley which provides a panoramic view of the Pico de Europa mountain range. The mornings here are spectacular with a view that is different day on day, its not that easy to put into words but its one of the main reason we chose to move to this spot :-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Since moving here our lives have evolved in many ways but most notably the amount of time spent outside and we feel this as one of the greatest treasures here and hope we can share that with you.

    We are putting into action things that we've planned/ dreamed of for many years from gardening to building and having volunteered ourselves a great deal over the years we have picked up many skills on the way which we look forward to sharing. As there are so many areas and ideas for this relatively large space we are also keen to have input and inspiration/ideas from people visiting.

    Although we are all English speakers we are making a conscious effort to learn Spanish and use it daily, so all be it basic you will pick up some Spanish here!

    We also have a growing number of friends in the area who are generally interesting folk and we hang out quite a bit, you will meet some good folk :-)
    Also there is then opportunities to volunteer with some of these people as they are mostly doing similar things...

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tasks on the to do list:

    Communal
    -Gardening, our initial veg patch last year was fun but small and this year’s looks to be far more ambitious with many beds of everything under the sun that will need maintaining, watering and some additional planting etc
    -Volunteer/guest cabin needs to be built
    -Fencing
    -Artistic/sculptural stuff :-)
    There is also plenty of strimming and bramble removal that it is necessary to keep on top of however we won’t expect you to do days on end of this kind of work as it is tiring.

    Ben and Tara’s Barn Renovation Project
    Over the course of last summer we have dug and laid the foundations for the many new block walls that will be going up in the months to come. So in the months April-September we will need help with:

    -Laying blocks/ mixing cement (we have a mixer so it’s not too strenuous!)
    -Laying the floor, part wood part cement, part glass bottle (insulation value!)
    -Pipe work: drainage and underfloor heating
    -Installing windows
    Come August-December we will be removing the roof of the barn, raising the wall height by 2 meters and fitting a new roof. So not much to do ! 

    Although we are on the grittier/sweatier part of this building project we’re kind and accommodating folk but be aware that this will be hard work. Also as we have a young child we ask that smoking is done so out of the way as much as possible and that you be aware of your language as he is a sponge on legs.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    At the moment we can accommodate up to one campervan after May . Otherwise helpers can use our medium size cabin which has its own cooking space and can sleep up to 3 people. There may be times when we have quite a few people so hopefully your ok with sharing space, we do however also have a large tent which could be used if needed :-)

    If you are coming by vehicle please let us know so we can plan accordingly as the track leading to our home is best when it is dry etc!.

    We will provide you with 3 meals a day on the days you work, this will be good solid meals! Mostly vegitarian although we do like to have BBQ s sometimes and do eat meat a couple of times a week... We are more than happy to accomodate Veggie or vegan folk.

    We have a communal shower block with nice hot water 24/7 and a compost toilet :-)

    We find ourselves now coming out the other side of our 2nd winter here and spring is bringing the place back to its green, flourishing self again, yeah!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The local area:

    The closest town is Villaviciosa which is 10 mins drive away/ around and hours walk (longer on the way back as we are at the top of quite a steep hill! There are buses and we have a couple of little run around cars too. Gijon is located 30kms away and is a relatively big city with Oviedo located 40 minutes drive which is a cosmopolitan Spanish city. Both of these are accessible by bus from the local town with regular buses each day.

    There are stunning views all the way over the valley to the green hills and beyond with the craggy peaks of the Picos de Europa visible on most days. Around the property you will find a few different paths leading off into the Eucalyptus forest which you would be welcome to explore. We are quite close to the coast (15 mins by car) the closest beach is Playa Espana, part of the Jurassic coast line with lots of interesting geology and a nice bar!

    Please make sure you have waterproofs and a decent pair of boots (something waterproof) as being between coast and mountains the weather can be pretty changeable and wet even in the summer months although July -Dec is usually the best and sunniest time of year with temps averaging around 24 degrees C.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 548323899948