Help with a 400 year old petit manoir in Brittany, France

Country

Francia

13 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    254

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Retired couple from Cornwall, UK, with massive renovation project of a 400 year old petit manoir in Central Brittany. We are getting older and need help with clearing inside buildings and shifting stuff that is becoming too heavy for us. Also Dennis becoming trepidatious of climbing ladders, I am fine with this but not husband. Will be sort of camping, electric only in apartment but can take cables to other parts of the complex. We have water from the spring, hot water to bathroom. An adventure for someone who likes history and old buildings. Will never ask anyone to do something that I would not be prepared to do myself. An interest in history and the arts would be good as we are both fond of these subjects and much of our exploring of the area has entailed this. Have various tools but not very many in the high tech or mechanical line. We live in a rural hamlet, when you look out the window what you see most of is trees and sky! Loudest noise is often a tractor or the wren when in full voice. We play board games, the old favourites and some of the new. Never bored, when day is done time to relax, read or just sit and cogitate.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about Breton and Cornish history and how much of it is linked. To know that even as retired and getting older adventures can still be had even when others think you are totally mad!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Youthful strength is what we need mostly. Lots of rubbish to be cleared, walls to be cleaned of old plaster and in time new lime pointing and plastering, that is still some way off. Also need help with re-arranging stuff, furniture, boxes and general ephemera from our long lives that need to be sorted and labelled. If there is someone out there who has a reasonable knowledge of French who doesn't get driven mad by computers there is much research to be done on the history of the house. We love exploring our part of Brittany and are very happy to show and share.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Room in the main part of the house, there is no electric except from a cable run to the room. Water in the bathroom down the stairs. Totally dark at night, no street lights in our hamlet. Friends have stayed in this room and found it comfortable. Nearest town, Gourin, is five kilometres away.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Little or no night life, we make our own entertainment. During the summer months go to as many of the local events as we can, village events and bigger ones at Gourin. We live simply, I am a good cook and make meals for omnivores and vegetarians. Brittany is famous for its pig products! In season I make jams and pickles. Ideal if workaway has their own transport but we have bicycles here so if anyone wants to go exploring on their own there is a form of transport, plus we have large scale maps of the area. Further afield exploration can be done in our little car and we take a picnic when out for the day. The coast is only about 40 minutes away and the beaches are fabulous.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 542513376234