Help on an organic smallholding located in the Serra do Acor in Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

207 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am living in an old farm in an abandoned hamlet located in the Serra do Acor in Central Portugal. I am Jean (31) from Belgium. There is some close neighbours and friends staying with us usually.
    In the beginning of 2015 we moved in to the farm and immediately started to work the land.

    There is several old natural stone buildings that need some restoring, and a lot of land with olives, vineyards, fruittrees, over grown areas, watersprings, brooks, vegetable field, woodland. The land is divided in terraces and quite mountainous. Getting your way around the larger valley can be adventurous!

    We've started an big vegetable field and are selling weekly organic fruit and vegetableboxes. Our aim is to have an organic smallholding embedded in nature, using permaculture principles and aiming towards selfsufficiency.

    At the moment we are finishing renovation work on a small building, using a lot of cob. We are fully offgrid, but solar powerd and using water from our springs.

    The village of Luadas is just 5 to 10 minutes away and has a nice bar/ with a view overlooking the mountains and valleys. Here you can get basic supplies and local products.
    It's a cozy village with friendly people whom are very welcoming.

    Around these villages and valleys there is a lot of stuff going on: alternative markets, movienights, transition movement, permaculture projects and social happenings from time to time.

    Not very far away there is the beautiful waterfall of Fraga da Pena, a national park, and above us is a very nice mountain area.

    October 2017 came with massive wildfires which destroyed a part of our farm. We and our neighbours are carrying on. The woods are still black and a part of the work is still dealing with the aftermath of the fires.

    To be sure we all get along and have a pleasant time, we have 1 week trial period. Then we can see whether all of us like it :-)
    We prefer a minimumstay of three weeks cause it takes some time to get into the farmlife.
    If you deceide to write us, please use the codeword avocado, then we know you ve read the full description, we are not too fond of random requests :D. Thanks!

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - Planting, watering, mulching of fruit trees.
    - Sowing and planting annual vegetables
    - Weeding the vegetable field.
    - Establishing the forestgardens
    - Harvest ( olives, grapes, fruit, chestnuts)
    - Firewood
    - Restore watersystems
    - Land clearance
    - Woodland management (cutting, restoring tracks, promoting the native forest)
    - Some cobprojects: Cobbing walls, building oven,
    - Woodworks: new composttoilet, tables, prepping wood, all kind of.
    - Baking bread, preserving harvest: juices, jams, wine, oil etc.
    - We do not provide any insurance.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Dutch: Fluido
    Portuguese: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Some facilities are rather primitive but now we do have warm water.
    From springtime to the autumn camping is a great option (if necessairy provided).
    For the wintertime: there is a comfortable caravan, and we have a 2 pers bedsofa in the livingspace where the stove is lighted, it's a warm and dry space. During the day other people might use the rest of the room aswell.
    We do have solar power, and limited Internetacces.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a mountainbike that you can borrow, there is some nice touristic sites and the riverbeach in the summer is a couple kilometers walk.

    Please bring :
    - Torch, since it can be really dark and tracks and stairs outside can be dangerous
    - ! proper shoes with grip (its steep here ) !
    - raincoats, except from july to september
    - biodegredable soap and toothpaste
    - in summer sunprotection if you need it.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 531379335753