Help us in our Country home in south-west Spain, Extremadura



343 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    We are an expat family of five. My husband and I are both English teachers. The children, a girl and two boys, are 13, 12 and 8 years old.

    After more than ten years in Spain, we moved to a finca of five acres in the heart of Extremadura. We run a B&B and are proud to see the business grow each year.

    We have 3 cats, Ruby, Molly and Tinkerbell, and a dog called Dina. There were plans to have a couple of donkeys or goats, but they have been put on hold. Instead, we let our neigbour's cows graze on our land.

    We need help around the house/finca, but not with the B&B. We welcome workawayers from September to June, summer months are just too hot.

    We would really, really like to have a vegetable garden, but we have very little time and no knowledge or experience, so we'd be grateful if an experienced gardener was interested in setting it up and showing us how things are done.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a multilingual family. Paul is English, I am Croatian, and all three children speak Spanish too. Apart from gaining experience doing various jobs, you will be able to practice your English with us (we are both qualified teachers). You will be able to enjoy the peace and calm of the countryside, and if you wish to explore the area in your free time, you'll be able to see some really nice places.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    In May 2014 we moved from a tiny two-bedroom apartment into a newly-built house on a 5-acre piece of land and are now a fully registered B&B. Let's just say the amount of work (indoors and outdoors) is overwhelming. No surprise we are constantly looking for volunteers to help with all kinds of (mainly unskilled) jobs and general maintenance so that we can dedicate our time and energy to promoting the B&B.

    Depending on the time of year, you will be expected to help us with basic chores, such as keeping the family house clean & tidy, cooking, watering the plants, decorating/painting, landscaping, cutting grass, treating wood, picking figs and olives, creating outdoor chill-out areas, assembling furniture, repairing bikes, walking the dog and keeping an eye on the children while we pop into the village for some quick errands or are busy at home. Also, we are really keen to start growing our own fruits and vegetables, so an experienced gardener would be welcome, but don't worry if you've never done any gardening, there's always a variety of jobs waiting to be ticked off our to-do list.

    With so much work to choose from, it shouldn't be too difficult to find something that suits your abilities and preferences, but you shouldn't be too picky either! After all, no professional skills are required for any of these jobs.

    Generally, our volunteers assist in the morning and have the afternoon off. Weekends are free and we can occasionally give you a lift to a nearby town, but you are expected to make your own travel arrangements if you want to do any travelling or sight-seeing in your free time. With three children to look after, we cannot commit to give you a ride to the village or back, so expect to do some walking or cycling too. But it's a lovely walk, one we do a lot when it's not too hot.

    The expected length of stay will vary depending on your availability and the time of the year and the amount of work needed. It might be anywhere between a week or two, or a month or two.

    Food and drinks are on us. We provide one cooked meal a day, usually lunch (at 2.30pm), and if on a different timetable to ours, you are expected to do your own breakfasts and suppers, helping yourself to anything in our cupboards and the fridge.

    IMPORTANT: We occasionally rent the whole house out at weekends (Friday and Saturday night) and move to a house in the village. . To save you having to pack your stuff and move in and out, you will be staying at the village house the whole time, and we will join you on those weekends when our B&B is rented out.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    The finca is only 2km away from the nearest village, and boasts spectacular views. It is surrounded with olive and fig trees, old holm oaks and grazing land. There is plenty of wildlife and birdwatchers will enjoy the variety of bird species.

    The house is on the grid, the water supply is our own (borehole) and we have internet connection 24/7. We have geothermal power for underfloor heating during the cooler months (roughly November-April) and for cooling the house in the hot months (the hottest being July and August).

    You will sleep in a room with a double bed and an en-suite bathroom with hot-water.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our nearby village of Almoharin is located in the heart of Extremadura, at the foot of the Sierra de Montanchez. Caceres, Trujillo and Merida are all 45-minutes by car. There are buses to Caceres and a nearby town of Miajadas. From there you can catch a bus (or a train in Caceres) to other nearby towns, as well as to Madrid, Seville and Cordoba.

    The nearest airports are Madrid, Seville and Lisbon (all a 3-hour ride). From all three you can get a bus to Caceres, and then to Miajadas (UNION BUS), which is where we can pick you up. From Madrid, there is a direct bus to Miajadas (SAMAR bus company).

    You will not be insured to drive our car, but you are free to use the mountain bikes to get to the village, or further. There are several corner shops, banks, a post office, a hardware store, places to eat and drink and other facilities in the village.

    The locals are very kind and helping, with many of them eager to practise their English, so only a basic level of Spanish is needed to get around. But if you want to work on your Spanish, all you need to do is go to local bars and start a conversation.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 179875181366