Help with house & garden projects & talk/visit farm in Limousin, France

Country

Francia

20 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/05/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    DIY in a lovely location!
    Hello . Justca welcoming normal home, its good to have people around chatting,. I'm normally farming but taking a sabbatical , (though continuing farming consultancy).
    Im doing up a kitchen and attic rooms , (stripped back to the stone work). Its a house with great views in a small french town near to a huge sports lake and wooded walks, cycling.
    So id love people to stop by and spend a few days, or a week or more helping me out.
    I mix with local people and enjoy all sorts of outlooks and interests, art, mechanics, science, sport, gardening, cycling....world views...family. I'm an ex commercial farmer, though will return to it again..am now helping to set up pilot projects with the govt agencies to get commercial farming more viable and restore the water, carbon etc into the soil cycle.
    My background and interests....I worked 20 yrs with cattle and fruit, ... Limousins, in UK and France, although sold farm to live and work in New Zealand for a year. i originally came from fruit farming where i grew up helping to run the farm shop, and also many yrs ago worked as a chartered landscape architect working with civil engineering projects. So i have varied experience and knowledge.

    I'm adapting a house on the edge (literally) of a town in Limousin, to make the most of its views and features. Id love some help, even if its the odd day, week or 2 or longer. Its only small, so not too overwhelming, and alsi means that is fine to stop and relax too.

    The garden is 2 small terraces over looking a river valley with views to the river, town and church. I've put in an ornamental style food forest! A new appriach to gardening for me, and quite interesting, with outdoor seating area.
    Other small projects...such as mini water recycling, mini solar....outdoor oven..are welcome if anyway feels like experimenting!
    I get asked to chop wood for people and take away the logs...so i cant refuse and have lots of wood. Also ...an apple press and have a commercial quantity of cider vinegar being made... ie need to get back to a farm!

    So in the short term I'm happy for workawayer(s) who would like to help with bits and pieces in the house, so a bit of masonary, a bit of carpentry, and maybe a bit of plumbing, etc. bits of gardening etc The house is in good shape, so its already comfortable to live in. Own private rooms.

    Also but not obligatory if you are someone interested in farming who might want to learn from my work or accompany me when i go and visit farms who are transitioning in the aim towards carbon capture grazing, i am helping with the planning and survey for one large commercial farm in particular.

    Other than that I've been asked to run a basic cheese making course! ...and do the odd drawing lesson, sketching, life drawing (a relic skill from landscape architecture)....but theres enough to do...unless someone wants to come and help set it all up!!

    Theres a huge leisure lake 15mins drive or 1hrs cycle away with swimming, sailing, waterskiing, tree climbing, also evening shows.

    Lots of market towns nearby and its not far from Limoges.... Outside of covid restrictions there are vide greniers, theme events etc, music festivals...

    Please feel welcome to in drop in , I'd love your help, and then also profit from the lovely surroundings and some hopefully good hospitality!
    Meet the local French.

    Oh and i know of other workaway hosts nearby and local.people who like help with their gardens. So there is a chance to do other things while here.

    Thanks for reading.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn English, learn regenerative farming through study and pilot projects (though on early days...learn to give help towards it!) garden design principals, learn to plan projects in a joint way.
    Learn, or develop house projects...
    Have plenty of practical life expetince to share...gardening, soils, building, design, farming, fruit growing, stock farming......
    I come from fruit farming, so can share my knowledge of pruning, grafting, growing and preserving fruit.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I'm open to ideas and anyones own creativity,

    I've some building and landscape design qualifications and experience. I like to reuse material, so making things from second hand materials.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    3 meals a day and accommodation in the house with own room. For 25hrs a week help.
    Help with food preparation for main meals, or take in turns.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Large leisure and sports lake, swimming, water ski, sailing. Cycling.
    Producer Markets, wooded walks, Other
    Limoges,
    Outside covid ...festivals, vide greniers....

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wifi generally works well. There is space to study. I am studying planned grazing and management, and soils for regeneration and carbon sequestration through farming. I'd be pleased to team up , especially for site visits and and soil testing, logging. planning to return to farming once the house is done!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 512625416565