Help us on our farm in the Kalahari desert and implement regenerative/permaculture principles in Kalahari, South Africa

  • 811 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a married couple, Daniel (Danie) and Suzanne, living and farming in the Northern part of South Africa, known as the Kalahari. We have recently changed our farming methods, and instead of goats we are now cattle farmers implementing regenerative grazing methods. We are also permaculture enthusiasts, striving to improve our current vegetable garden into an even better producing one in this harsh environment. We recently moved from an old farmhouse to Danie's parent's farmhouse, and we have so many projects (big and small) to put our personal stamp on it! It's the two us, our 2 year old, Danie's parents living next door and all our animals. We also run a campsite, self catering chalet and more luxury accommodation at the main house.
    That is why we need your help! And we also love the company, the cultural exchange and the new ideas workawayers bring.

    Danie is a "workaholic" that can't sit still for too long, and is the main gardener and handyman. He is always fixing, researching and improving on things around here, and likes getting new ideas and perspectives from others. He will have more than enough to keep you busy with too, unless Suzanne needs a hand around the house with the busy toddler. Suzanne is an online language teacher (she would be happy to help with language exchange, as she is trying some French) and the owner and manager of the lodging business. She helps with the garden stuff, but the animals and creative projects are more her passion. She is the home maker and mom, making sure everyone is healthy, happy and cared for.

    Also part of our family are the animals. We have two dogs, two horses, a cat, four ducks, a whole bunch of chickens and our herd of cattle. We all would love to meet you and welcome you to our home :-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In the Kalahari you learn how to slow down and appreciate the small luxuries in life, and how to make the most out of the simplest situations. You will learn how to disconnect (no TV) to connect (find yourself in this quiet environment). You learn how a community works together to help each other in a very harsh and isolated environment. If you are lucky, you might experience true Afrikaans culture during a "braai" with some of the neighbors, or even a "sokkie" (dance party) depending on the time of year :-)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are always improving something around the house, and have some ideas to create a workaway house. Our vegetable garden needs a lot of attention. We will need general help in the house with some cleaning, but also bigger projects like building and painting, gardening, fencing, working with the animals, helping with our bees, and general maintenance. We are slowly becoming more self-sustainable as we learn how to survive in this harsh environment. We still have lots to learn as we try to live and be more Eco-conscious.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two comfortable rooms joined to the main house where workaways stay. We can host 4 people (two per room). The lounging and kitchen facilities are shared. It has an equipped and a kitchen stocked with basics. each room has an en suite bathroom. There is electricity and running water, but we make our own warm water in the boiler for the whole house. Depending on how many requests we have, there might be times where you will need to share a room with a same-sex roommate. We will inform you in advance about a situation like this.

    Volunteers cook most of their own meals, but you will be invited for some nice meals and socializing in the main house on occasions. Basic ingredients will be provided for all meals in the workaway kitchen, but because we live far from any shops (80 kilometers from the closest tiny little shop!), shopping is kept to a limit, so be aware that if you run out of a certain item, it will not be quickly replaced. If you know you often have cravings for certain things, we suggest you stock up on some of your own favorite foods and treats before you arrive. We do not provide expensive/luxury items (cheese, filter coffee, daily meat), but we still make sure your workaway kitchen is well stocked with ingredients to keep you well fed! The vegetable garden is your daily fresh-food store.

    Washing machine is available in laundry room.

    On the farm you will learn to connect with yourself, and find entertainment in simple things like reading, drawing or going for walks. You will also discover afternoon naps, especially during summer where the afternoons are hot and lazy. There are a few things/activities to keep you busy during your hours off, like, horse riding, board games and card games, some books, and of course peaceful walks and beautiful nature scenes.
    All of this can be enjoyed during break hours and on weekends.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The closest big(-ish) towns to us are Kuruman and Kathu 135Km away.

    Most hired cars can reach us. If you prefer not to drive yourself, we also suggest you make use of one of the following ways of transport:
    • The bus service, Inter Cape, to Kuruman from almost any major city in SA
    • Flights to Sishen airport (near Kathu). Very small airport. Visit the following website to see available flights .
    We will then arrange to meet you at one of these destinations to pick you up and drive you the rest of the way.


    For cell service, we suggest you buy an MTN pay-as-you-go sim card, as most remote areas in South Africa do have MTN signal. To register a sim card on the South African networks, your passport and proof of residency (rental agreement) are required.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Any shape and size

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 495567141593

Comentarios (29)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (4.7)






































We appreciate all kind of support on our small farm on the outskirts of the town of Napier, South Africa
Help turn a house into an eco-friendly B&B in the mountainous ‘wilds’ of Sibasa, South Africa