1 / 5
actualizado  

Help us to create a sustainable and self-sufficient smallholding farm near Zomba, Malawi

  • 21 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello friends,
    I'm so excited to share what we can offer you here at our place in Malawi, in a rural area called Gologota about 25 minutes drive from Zomba on the Zomba/Blantyre Road.

    A working holiday is a fantastic way of travelling and experiencing new cultures while saving money. Our programme offers free accommodation and meals in exchange for about 3-4 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. Here you can immerse yourselves in the local community by working and interacting with locals on a smallholding farm where we also run a café and events garden. The café/ bar is open daily and generates income for the on-going projects. You will not be required to serve customers or to wait tables but you can get as involved as you would like.

    We are flexible with the type of work that our Workawayer's engage in depending on what their wants, needs and strengths. We aim to make the whole Workaway experience mutually fulfilling, rewarding and enjoyable. We welcome new, innovative ideas and aim to create an inclusive environment where all people feel welcome, important and needed.

    The setting is idyllic with lots of trees and shade, lots of interesting bird-life and frequent visits from the monkeys!

    This is a not-for-profit organisation that aims to offer cultural and Chichewa language courses (tailor-made to your specific needs), an opportunity to engage in our local projects (we are currently in the process of setting up a camp-site with potential for glamping options and an on-site gym). The rest of the land has been sectioned into agricultural land and orchard with many fruit trees i.e. guava, lemon, mango, apple, plum, peach, mulberry etc. We are hoping to make local jams and preserves for sale (again to generate income).

    We are looking forward to welcoming Workawayers to our little haven and to work together to create social media presence, to identify income-generating projects, to possibly become more reliant on solar energy and to become more eco-friendly. We are creating various gardens and so if gardening is your thing, then you would really enjoy this too.

    We also work closely with a local nursery school for 4 and 5 year old children where our Workawayers can volunteer to teach and to engage in arts and crafts projects.

    As an occupational therapist, I encourage people of all ages (whether taking a gap year or retired), backgrounds, capabilities, disability, those who are still looking for their purpose in life or even those feeling like life is passing them by to take the plunge and see what a difference your contribution will make.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In this rural environment, you would get the opportunity to experience rural life in Malawi. I speak Chichewa and can help anyone wanting to learn the language and anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the Malawi culture. I enjoy cooking so this is also a good way of enjoying some local cuisine.
    I enjoy doing Yoga and yoga in the woods/outdoors in the early morning is special. This place also offers tranquillity and calm that we call crave from time to time. So if you are facing burn-out or feeling overwhelmed, please do reach out and come away.
    Zomba, the old capital city is only a 25 minute drive away and highly recommended. Zomba is a market town and home to Zomba Plateau and Malape pillars (often compared to the Grand Canyon!) are also in the vicinity.
    Lake Malawi is about a 3 hour drive away and and Mvuu Camp (safari) is about 1.5 hour drive away.
    Majestic Mount Mulanje is about a 2 hour drive away so if you enjoy hiking or just want to admire the mountain from a safe distance Mulanje is definite a must-see sight.
    This is a mutually beneficial arrangement for us and for Workawayers as there are many learning opportunities: to share lived experiences, a beautiful place to heal, to reflect and to feel heard and listened to. This is not just about work but about friendship and sharing.
    We would like for all Workawayers to leave at the end of their visit, knowing that they have made friends for life and knowing that their visit was impactful.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am a qualified occupational therapist, currently spending more time in rural Malawi and predominantly live on my own although my children visit from time to time. I currently pay for labour in developing this not-for-profit venture that will create employment for local people in the community and will enhance the livelihoods of the local community.

    I am requesting support with developing this project. Your help of working 3-4 hours a day, for 5 days a week in return for free accommodation and 3 meals a day would enable me to achieve this. I am inviting you to help me in the following areas:
    * DIY skills/ building/ general repairs/ improvements of the house, café and events garden
    * I am in the process of setting up a small events garden and café to generate income for the on-going projects
    * Support with social media presence and advertising
    * Animal care - I have several dogs that are always looking for love and attention
    * support with making the smallholding more sustainable and self-sufficient through things like using solar energy etc.
    * support with teaching/ doing art projects at a local nursery school
    * ideas / projects to engage local youth to enhance their livelihoods in the villages

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Chichewa, Chewa, Nyanja: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am bi-lingual (English and Chichewa) and I learnt French as a subject over several years but lack the confidence to speak it. I would be happy to teach Chichewa/English and to learn more French if that were possible.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a fully furnished 3-bedroom farmhouse with single and double beds (depending on your needs), one bathroom with shower and bathtub, electricity and a lovely surround veranda on three sides. All beds have mosquito nets and bedside lights.
    I have a fully furnished kitchen with a gas cooker and electric oven. I am flexible with meals so you can cook independently if needed or we can cook together and share. I would just want for you to come and experience rural Malawi, learn a bit of the language and perhaps use this as a base for you to go our and explore Malawi a bit more.
    All Workawayers would be accommodated in the farmhouse in bedrooms with single/ double beds etc.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Thondwe market is about a 20 minute walk away but also there are bike taxis if you prefer to be a bit more adventurous. The market offers lots of local produce and local crafts. There is a local church and lots of nice walks in the area. If you prefer to venture further afield, we have a car that we can let you use for a small fee.
    Other local sights:
    Zomba - the market, the plateau and Malape/ Chikala pillars
    Liwonde- a town close to Zomba where you can access Mvuu Camp for a safari
    Mulanje - the home of Mulanje Mountain, the third highest peak in Africa. This is approximately 1.5 hours drive from Gologota

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have an office space for people wanting to work on their own online projects whilst staying with us.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can offer travellers in campervans a parking space and they can use our bathroom facilities if/when required.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We can accept cats and dogs

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3-4 hours a day, 3-4 days a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 477756698268

Comentarios (3)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





We need your help! Youth-led community projects in the mountains of Livingstonia, Malawi
Help a local NGO in children education and women empowerment in Blantyre, Malawi