Learn about building dry stone walls in the mountains of Ardèche, France

  • 10 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 17 dic 2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'm a British pensioner living in the mountains of Ardèche, France with my dog and several hens. More than 30 years ago I bought my old stone house in a remote and beautiful valley and have been gradually restoring the house, other buildings and the land around. However, old age has caught up with me and I haven't quite finished! I would like help with restoring several dry stone walls that are falling down.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There are several activities in the village (pétanque, walking group) that would allow visitors to meet the locals and practice their French. A nearby campsite has an affordable restaurant and theme nights in the summer. We have a small market on Thursdays selling local produce.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Experience with building dry stone walls to support terraces would be a plus but it wouldn't take long for a strong fit person (or persons) to learn how to to it. I took a course a few years ago and can demonstrate the techniques, though I am no longer able to lift the heavy stones.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I was a teacher of English as a Foreign Language for many years and would be happy to give some lessons.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Guest accommodation is a small independent house near my own with a bedroom (double bed), sitting room (with single bed), kitchen and bathroom. I won't provide food but the kitchen is equipped with basic cooking facilities (double hotplate, microwave, kettle etc.) and I would provide transport once a week to the local supermarkets.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many walking trails in the valley and up and down the mountains. A minibus goes down to the nearby town on market day. The Grotte Chauvet replica is not far away and there are many small picturesque villages to visit in the area.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    My home is located in a rather blank zone with poor network service. I do have a wifi connection but it is limited by the thick walls of my house. There is no wifi in the guest house but visitors can receive messages in my kitchen if necessary.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have a Golden Retriever who would be delighted to have a canine friend to play with. My cat, however does not like other cats.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 15 hours a week (food not provided)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 461889492483

Comentarios