Permaculture garden projects and building work in Catalonia, Spain

Country

España

actualizado  

174 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    45  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, we are the Hodges family. We are a mixed culture family who are of Jamaican and English origin, and now reside 5-10 minutes outside Tortosa. We live on 5 acres of farm land which is off grid. we have invested in a large solar panel system of which we get our energy supply. We now have our own source of water.

    The land is established with olive, almond, and carob trees. we have chickens, 6 cats and a two dogs.

    we are in the process of installing a functioning irrigation system for our plants, so if you have any knowledge of setting up a good system we would love to have you join us. we are growing our own fruits and vegetables and we are learning about permaculture so that we can eventually rely on it as a way of life.

    Our daily routine involves feeding the animals, watering the plants, helping in the house and helping with other projects. these projects includes, tiling and decorating the house, we are currently building a block wall and gate for the entrances to the property.


    We speak english and are currently learning Spanish and Catalan. our youngest son is 19 years and is in need of improving his Catalan , therefore any help would be appreciated.

    We do like an early start to the day and do not work on Saturdays. We would prefer to have someone independent of us, there is enough space for you to have your own vehicle/tent but we also have a caravan that sleeps two..

    We are not prejudice whether you are vaccinated or not, all are welcome!

    Basic food is provided such as milk, sugar, flour, pasta, rice and bread should you require special dietary requirements such as gluten free food you will need to get those yourself. the vegetable garden is there for you as you need it. your being able to get on with and complete tasks independently is necessary as we are not around sometimes. We can negotiate hours to suit.

    Tortosa is a beautiful town. The Delta Ebre runs through the town and is known for its large cat fish and is popular for fishing hobbies. There are also festivals such as the Tortosa renaissance in July. The region is also known for its rice paddies. Mount Caro is in full view to the rear of our property and views from the top of the mountain are exceptional.

    We have bicycles and it takes 20mins if you want to ride to town, 45mins walk, otherwise we use a jeep for transport. The beaches are 30 minutes away and a public swimming pool including a bar is 10 minutes away, we now have a swimming pool.
    We also have table tennis, air hockey and board games.

    All of our volunteers are treated as part of the family.
    We look forward to all our volunteers and hope that they enjoy their stay with us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am from Jamaica, my husband from England. we lived in Canada for a year then we moved to the the UK. We love tasty cooking. We are loving, patient, chatty and caring and would love to share what we have.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our daily routine involves feeding the animals, watering the plants, helping with other projects. these projects includes, building a block wall and gate for the entrance, plaster finish on the house. staining the windows and doors, tiling the floors.

    help to repair the bikes.

    In the garden we need assistance with maintaining the permaculture vegetable garden, we need to learn how to grow our kitchen vegetables consecutively.

    We are also preparing for picking the carobs and olives, pruning and clearing around the trees, prune dead branches; also strimming and clearing up the garden.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Catalan: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Hi, we speak English but a need to learn the native Catalan and Spanish language, I speak some Spanish and our 19 year old Cameron speaks some Catalan.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are working on a future permanent accommodation for our volunteers and visitors and all our guests are treated as part of the family. For the moment accommodation is in a caravan that sleeps 2 people or a family possible of 4. with a summer outdoor shower and dry toilet. We do not eat meat, however we can cater for those that do.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in Roquetes, with Tortosa about ten minutes away. There is the river Ebre, Delta Ebre boat rides. The town is known for its cat fish or fishing hobbies.
    If you look online, there are beautiful sights and we have bicycles if you want to ride to town, Otherwise we have a jeep! We tend to go to the beach for relaxation or there are festivals such as the Tortosa renaissance from 20-23 of July. Usually, we like an early start and we have siestas.

    We do not work on Saturdays as we take this time for family time.

    We do not smoke but you are able to use designated spots.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we have enough space to accomodate more than 2 people

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25 hours/week)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.3)


































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 452594633149