Build an off-grid eco-nature friendly home in Herault in the sunny South of France

Country

Francia

actualizado  

29 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We, Anna (Late 30's) & Neil (Late 40's) are a well travelled, food & wine loving, Irish/English couple who run an international development charity in West Africa. Help us renovate an old hunting lodge in the mountains of the South of France and turning it into an off-grid, eco home.

    We are located in the mountains surrounded by 2,600 km² of natural oak forest in one of France’s finest National Parks (Parc Naturel Régional du Haut Languedoc), with magnificent, panoramic views overlooking the Mediterranean.

    Anna grew up helping her, restaurant owning father in the kitchens of his successful businesses in Dublin, which means she is a great cook and a wounderful host. She loves shopping for fresh produce in the local market of St. Chinian on a Sunday morning so lunchtime is normally a special treat.

    Neil has completed various walking and survival courses and has led two overseas expeditions. Our mountainous location makes us perfect for keen mountain walkers, mountain bikers and canoeists whilst enjoying the virtually guarantee good weather. Neil is happy to show you his favourite routes and has uploaded his favourites to a popular walking app.

    We are surrounded by award winning domains and vine yards that produce some wounderful wines and we have a local "Cave" (wine shop) in our village. You could easily spend several afternoons just doing the local wine tours.

    We adore meeting new people from all around the world, we speak English and a little French.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We adore meeting new people from all around the world, togther we have travelled to over 70 different countries. Anna is Irish/Greek so likes a drink and is also a great cook! Neil has led two overseas expeditions across Central & South America (The Darien Gap) and across the Sahara Desert. Together we founded the charity we now both work for Village by Village.

    Our evenings are mostly spent sat on our terrace chatting with a nice bottle of cheap local wine overlooking the magnificent, panoramic views watching the sun go down.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are rebuilding the house’s natural stone terrace, decking and reframing the outside of the house in wood. We also need to cut back some of the trees and scrub bush around the house to form a natural fire break from the surrounding forest and plan to build a wood fired sauna and hot tub .

    A keen home improver, carpenter, bricklayer, handyman or active gardener who are reasonably fit and willing to get busy would be our perfect guest.

    You do not need any skills just be fit and healthy with a willingness to learn.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am a qualified English teacher with seven years experience teaching all over the world I would like to improve my French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in the recently built extension with its own en-suite or camping, in the privacy of the 5 acres of natural oak & pine forest that came with the house. You have spectacular panoramic views overlooking vine yards, leading to the villages of Pravda & Cessenon all the way to the sea.

    We will provide a tents which has a double bed and bedding for the Workawayers coming to help

    Our favourite thing about our accommodation is the outdoor heated solar shower with the most magnificent 360, panoramic views which must have the best shower views in the whole of France!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are keen walkers who are happy to show you our favourite routes and have a couple of mountain bikes guests are welcome to use. They run canoeing trips, paddle boarding etc in the next nearest village of Roquebrun which the Orb River flow through from the mountains to the west. So is also the best place to jump in the river for a swim on a hot summers day.

    We are surrounded by award winning domains and vine yards that produce some wounderful wines and we have a local "Cave" (wine shop) in our village. You could easily spend several afternoons just doing the local wine tours.

    And then there are the fine selction of local patisseries (cake shops) seling amazing breads, cakes and lots of produce markets. The biggest being twice a week in Saint Chinian.

    There are some lovely beaches only a 45 min drive South to the Mediterranean. Happy to drop you off at the bus stop ....

    On the way to the beach you go through the ancient city of Béziers that hosts the famous "Feria de Béziers", every August. Attracting over a million visitors to the five-day event.

    Futher a field is the amazing food & drink night market in the summer in Pezenas and the modern but also historic city of Montpellier

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I run an NGO working in Africa from our house. We have broad band which is ok but there is also a 4G mast just on the hill behind us so you get up to 45mbs.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have parking at our house and several acres of woodland.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We love pets…

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 425275832832