Experience Old Traditions and Practice Permaculture, while Living in a Yurt in Knowlesville, New Brunswick



18 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Descripción


    Live in the old ways, and some of the new in a Mongolian Yurt, or Viking style Longhall, surrounded by an eclectic eco-village. Join me to make memories, build our own culture, share feasts, fires, and the wild existence.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience an older slower form of lifestyle, rooted in the pioneer experience, Viking heritage, and the traditional ways of New Brunswick. Try pumping water by hand, chopping wood with an axe, living in a solar off grid homestead without wifi, light pollution, or urban noise. Tell stories and read real books instead of watching screens. I do not own a tv, and live a plastic free life. Nor do I use social media though I am an avid writer.

    There is a healthy population of Black Bear, Moose, Coyote, Bobcat, Porcupine, Red Squirrel, Frogs, Snakes, and Bald Eagles around this neck of the woods, come find your allies in the animals, and the zen of forest living. I would love to build a hive and get bees living here.

    We can invite the village over for potlucks to share stories and sit around the fire circle. Others have permaculture projects in the village, and a slew of domestic farm animals. Let's blaze trails on my one acre of land, take care of oaks, alders, and apple trees, and make sacred places in the woods for worship, meditation, and animal habitat.

    I can teach you about old guild traditions, the Viking past and presence in Canada, all about analog technology and interesting hand tools, wild edibles, botany, and some secrets of the land.

  • Ayuda


    Come from away, and feel open to live your creative fyre, as we fit out a Mongolian yurt for habitation. The yurt is already raised, by four of the village members and myself last year, and needs the maple tree floor, some handmade or traditional furniture, and comfortable accoutrements for living. Then we rig it to the existing solar system from the Viking hall, and construct an outdoor kitchen. The more rustic and do it ourselves the better, gleaning materials from nature like driftwood, branches, and stumps and sourcing natural items from craftspeople, markets or antiques. This can be the place for your dwelling here; stay for a weekend, a season, or longer...

    The hall also needs a new roof, cause being a rustic wooden cabin it does leak in the rain. We'll make one with grass and pitch the Faroese/Icelandic way, and grow things on top. We can use some modern material for this too, and find a source for the turf in the maritimes, or maybe we can cut it ourselves.

    My partner has an apothecary and we can forage wild herbs, berries, roots, and mushrooms for her, share time in her garden planting herbs and nutritive foods for the future, and turning plants into medicine in her witches cabin. An Alaskan agouti Husky lives with me, still a pup, and loves attention, play, and wilderness hikes. So once trusted, a traveler could bring him into the Appalachian mountains above my homestead, to Skedaddle ridge, or to one of the abundant brooks, rivers and waterfalls around New Brunswick.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Interested to become fluent in the Scandinavian languages, French, and Latin learn African words, and hear stories told in foreign languages

  • Alojamiento


    :Mongolian Yurt (bare right now, except for fireplace)
    :Wooden Longhall Cabin

    For food, I am picking up a share of an organic vegetable box every week from a local farm, with no gmos or spray. It is made for two vegetable lovers with a lot of diversity, so we can use the weekly harvest to cook interesting and unique food. If you want to cook something from your country, just pitch the idea and we can find everything you need in Woodstock, the city, about 45 minutes away. Other things I can get from the Mennonites, and farmers market, or the Praxis land (a permaculture garden in the village). I try to eat as much of my food as wild and fresh as possible, including meat, though I don't mind if you don't.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are near the Woodstock and Tobique first nation, and the Woolastook river. There are ample places to throw in a canoe and paddle down to the sea or the various portage routes peppered through New Brunswick. Hidden away nooks and grottoes for hiking, naked swimming, foraging, trout and salmon fishing, and meditation. Road trips can also happen to heritage sites, waterfalls, fjords, and places of local lore.

    This village was made when civil war dodgers evaded the draft in the 1890's and came here to get back to the land. A lot of those descended from the originals are old guard hippies, and free people. They were called Skedaddlers, and we still feel this spirit today. The Covid issues are not strong here, and we don't really follow suit with the rest of the world. Instead we encourage community, radical thought, and natural health and resilience.

    I've volunteered for 7 years, traveled to 17 countries, been to Rainbow gatherings, farmed and lived in all kinds of bio-homes, ashrams, and eco-communities before coming here in Knowlesville, so I would be happy for you to land, and enjoy my homestead with me. Those who find this place I like to say are in 'The Know'.

    I practice Ashtanga and Hatha yoga and give you some demos or flow together. If you can show me a piece of your culture, I would be wven more happy with your presence. I love easily and cultivate strong binds with people.

    Looking to make some new brothers and sisters who want to see what real life can be made of, with all the blessings of forest life. I worship the dirt and the sun, the plants and the animals, not religious but on a spiritual trajectory. I believe in living up to our own mythology and ideas, and truly thriving insteading of merely surviving.

    I can pick you up on my motorcycle or my cruiser car, either from Fredericton, Florenceville, Hartland or Woodstock.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    If you are a digital nomad, you can catch a wavering signal with your smart phone, then hotspot it to your laptop for those who are writers or have some work while traveling.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    A fairly long dirt driveway leading into the forest, for up the three cars, camper van or motorhome

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 hours a week, this is the Paleo/Tribal peoples average work time to allow for culture to grow

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 367779966912