Come and help on a beautiful farmstay in Gippsland in Victoria, Australia.



55 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    We are a young couple in our 60s and we are on a small beef cattle farm of 40 acres in beautiful gippsland victoria. We would like somebody to help us about on the farm as "many hands make light work as they say."

    here we have cattle and ponies, some chooks, a dog and a small orchard, wicking vegie beds, the beginnings of a nursery, so there is always too much to do. We are just 5k from korumburra which boasts 2 wineries, a brewery, coal creek historical village and still only a 2 hour bus trip to Melbourne city on weekdays. I regularly travel to parts of the city of melbourne and to Belgrave which is where puffing Billy is and is on the train line to get about Melbourne, so you can still get around to travel if you don't have a car. We are a safe place for single female travellers. A farm is a place where you should be always mindful of safety. Hats in summer, sensible farm boots and a good waterproof coat. We can help with coats, hats, working gloves and gum boots but you do need safe working boots. Gippsland can get get chilly in winter, so you need warm gear, there are 4 op-shops (for second hand clothes) in town so you can buy working clothes or warmer gear very cheaply in town. You get your own room, comfy dble bed and mark is a great cook. We think we are good company, like a good wine with our dinner on weekends, not vegetarian, non smokers and happy to drive you around locally to reach transport to tour about and do your tourist activities from a nice home base, plus pick up lots of knowledge from your hosts.
    During Covid we are laying low. Our regional area of gippsland is not in lockdown but we are being cautious due to elderly and at risk family members that we care about. We understand that workawayers want to experience all that life has to offer, but just letting you know this is a quiet environment to lay low in at the moment.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We both speak excellent English and are quite happy to help with your English skills, we are commuting distance to Melbourne city for tourist activities via a 2 hour bus ride or a lift with us. you would be staying on a farm, which is 5 kilometres out of town. so it's a long walk if you have no car but we go in and out of town almost daily so can give you a lift. in town there is "coal creek historical village" which is free, and sometimes has great social functions like the geek festival, beard competition day, easter egg hunts and medieval day. when there is a big function on, they run the little tourist train. there are 2 pubs and a brewery in town and 1 wineries local to us. Here at our place you would be involved in rural activities, farming beef cattle, ponies,veggie garden and plants, in a fairly typical Australian household but minus the beer and footy. We have 60 different species of birds here and wombats. the local township is small, but there is a bigger town of leongatha 10 minutes drive away with decent shops and a movie theatre. The djinta djinta winery is walking distance next door, and gippsland is on a gourmet driving trail so you can eat and drink your way around the countryside if you have access to a car. we are only 1 hour drive away from 90 mile beaches, Phillip island, fairy penguins, puffingbilly and trees adventure in belgrave, and I love being a tour guide about my fabulous magical land of oz.

  • Ayuda


    Running a farm is always lots of work;
    collecting wood from the paddocks into trailers, loading up the wood box, keeping a fire fueled up in cold weather, watering, (and running the pump) and checking animals, and their health, yarding stock for treatments, feeding chooks and collecting eggs, working with ponies, fencing and pruning, potting and weeding. burning off to keep the property fire safe, building animal shelters, plus building of wicking beds for veggies, shelter sheds, pruning fruit trees and roses, general cleaning up around the property to keep it safe.
    We want you to be safe, you must have good solid shoes or boots to protect your feet. You haven't lived till a 750kg cow or horse accidently stands on your foot. A farm is a workplace environment. We have sunscreen, work gloves, spare hats and some spare gumboots for mud but protective shoes that cover your entire foot are a must have. The ground is all uneven from cows walking thru mud in winter so supportive boots are a big help to navigate the block. Think really rough bush track walking.....
    We do want you to enjoy yourself here, and not get damaged.!!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a 3 bedroom house which we would share, with a double bed available. mark is quite a good cook, but the cook never has to do the dishes, we have a dishwasher, we expect you to help pull your own weight around the house to clean up your own mess. we are both celiac, (no wheat/gluten) and we eat meat, occaisionally we butcher our own meat, so probably not suitable for vegetarians. This is a no smoking household, and we have a dog, who hangs inside, so if you're allergic to dogs not suitable. Mark works from home most days and I work most sunny afternoons on a part time job in Belgrave. there is tv with lots of movies on file for rainy days and internet of sorts, no decent bandwith (adsl no nbn here) so no downloading of movies possible. Telstra is a bit spotty here, but Optus works fine. we have reverse cycle a.c. and a wood fire which is lovely in winter but needs to be kept in wood! We are on tank water here which I love as it tastes so good but we have to watch our water use in high summer dry period. we also have solar so most (washing machines) are only run in daylight.
    tv has lots of movies on the files for rainy days or to curl up with at night. We are about half an hour drive from the beach at Inverloch.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    we also drive up to Melbourne regularly if you need transport to a metro train line, there and back. there are lots of weekend markets around all the local townships, we are about 45minutes drive from Phillip island, another popular tourist destination if you have a car, we are on the gourmet trail thru gippsland. I work part time in Belgrave, we can also give you a lift there to catch trains around Melbourne or see puffing Billy, trees adventure, the forest walks or other tourist activities around there as well. we live quietly but occaisionally enjoy a good red with dinner on the weekends. plans are afoot to get offgrid, and we can hold a conversation about anything, if we share our home we expect all the usual courtesies of housesharing, clean up after yourself, help with the dishes if we do the cooking, (yes we have a dishwasher). don't let the fire go out in winter and the dog will always share the couch.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 389742725749