Help at our organic family farm in rural mid-Devon, England

Country

Gran Bretaña

458 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    13  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/08/2022

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I live on a 240 acre organic family farm in rural mid-Devon. I have a flock of 200 breeding sheep and a herd of 28 cows whose offspring are all fattened on the farm. The farm also grows arable crops and we have recently planted about 9 acres of woodland. We produce clean energy from an array of solar panels. If I could ever find the time I would love to grow vegetables in my garden.
    I am looking for Workaway help mainly in the springtime when our ewes are due to lamb. March is our busiest month and much of the time will be spent looking after the sheep, though there are also plenty of other jobs to do as well. There is a very comfortable holiday cottage on the farm which will be available as accommodation. Food will be provided, and while there are full cooking facilities in the cottage visitors will be very welcome to take some meals with me and any of my family that are around.
    I have one teenage son who is at home at weekends and in the school holidays, three other grown-up children who appear now and then, three very friendly dogs, a cat and a horse.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will welcome visitors into our family and will be very happy to pass on knowledge about caring for sheep and many other aspects of organic livestock farming.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main activity on the farm is care of sheep and cattle. As it is winter all our cattle are housed so feeding and bedding them will be a daily task. Sheep also need feeding at this time of year. March is lambing and calving time, so much time then will be spent looking after lambing ewes and newborn lambs. Plenty of hands-on experience will be available for those who would like it.

    There will also be farm maintenance work to do including fence repair, hedge laying, wood chopping etc, and maybe some gardening work or even some cleaning in the farmhouse. Farming is not always predictable, and visitors should be willing to help out with whatever comes up.

    Some experience with livestock would be an advantage. A liking for animals and confidence around them is essential as is a willingness to sometimes work alone when necessary.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a recently converted and extremely comfortable two- bedroom holiday cottage very close to our house which will be available to workawayers. We will provide breakfast food in the cottage. Other meals may be taken with us or in the cottage by arrangement.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are in a very beautiful part of Devon, and within reach of Dartmoor and Exmoor. North and South coasts are both about an hour's drive away. There are buses from nearby villages (3 miles) to Exeter which is the county town with all amenities. We have bikes that we can lend you for getting around locally. However, visitors should be aware that the farm is in a fairly isolated area and public transport is quite limited. There is a pub within one mile, and village shops a 40 minute walk away, but not much else, so rural living needs to be to your taste.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 419432718869