Matthew & Joanne

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Testing Tribe
Top Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos


    Nuestro próximo destino:

    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi, we're Matt and Jo, a married couple from England and we have sold our house and given up our jobs to become permanent 'work-awayers'. We've now been volunteering for several hosts since summer 2013.

    We are both fully Covid 19 vaccinated.

    Matt is a qualified Land Surveyor and wanted a change from living in a city and from the job he had done for years. Jo was an institutional fundraiser for a wildlife conservation charity.
    We love travelling and when visiting a new place we like to learn about the history and local culture and sample local food. We spent 12 months from April 2011 travelling around the world to lots of interesting countries that we'd never visited before. Upon returning, we always wanted to continue the travelling lifestyle.
    We enjoy wildlife and regularly visit nature reserves and National Parks in the UK to see what we can spot. We also love breath-taking scenery and most of our photo albums are filled with landscapes, mountains and water scenes, with the rest being animals/wildlife.
    We like to do our bit for the environment and think it is important to maintain as much green space for nature as possible.
    We enjoy listening to a huge variety of music (nothing really 'mainstream' though) and attend gigs, concerts and festivals whenever possible. We also enjoy watching a variety of live sports especially cricket.
    We both enjoy reading, from old classics to more current novels. We enjoy watching films and comedy, and Jo loves Harry Potter (books, films, magic, anything related!).
    We enjoy visiting interesting pubs and bars to have a pint of craft beer or cider.
    Jo loves crafts and making things (knitting, crochet, feltwork, needlecraft etc). She makes anything from flowers and cats to scarves and jumpers in any array of colours and wools.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Icelandic: Principiante

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    We've both been home owners in England and undertook maintenance of inside and outdoor areas.

    We are both physically fit and not afraid of hard work. In addition, we would love to learn new skills and are always willing to help out where needed.

    We’ve worked for many different workaway hosts giving us experience in:
    Estate management
    Maintenance and building
    Tourist Accommodation & Guesthouses
    House-sitting - At several places, we have been lucky enough to be given the responsibility of looking after the farms, businesses, homes and animals whilst the owners were away.

    Projects we helped with include:

    Maintenance and building:
    Repair and insulation of stable roof
    Kitchen and tourist apartments renovation
    Building 'free-range' chicken house
    Building raised flower beds
    Putting up shelves and flat-pack furniture
    Measuring up, cutting and laying carpets

    Estate Management & Gardening:
    Mowing lawns and fields
    Weeding and pruning
    Fruit and vegetable picking
    Tree Clearance
    Leaf blowing
    Fencing and gate hanging
    Road repairs
    Preparing gardens and grounds to host events
    Clearing garages and steadings

    Farm work:
    Hay-making using tractor
    Sheep and horse gathering
    Feeding animals including cows, calves, sheep, chickens, ducks, dogs, horses
    Milking cows and goats
    Cleaning chicken houses, cow-houses and milking systems
    Assisting with lamb and calf births
    Sheep tagging and marking
    Using small tractor/loader to distribute hay/straw bales

  • Edad

    45 & 42

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      No. we would choose to eat plant based if there is a choice, but we are flexible about this




Fotos de competición