actualizado  

Help our family with DIY and gardening projects in a little southwest French town, Vic en Bigorre, France

  • 31 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 3 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello there. We are an American/British family living in a lovely part of southwest France and restoring an 18th century maison de maître. We have been living here since 2013 and we speak English and French. Our family here is made up of me (Darcie), my husband Jeff and our 15yo child. We also have a grown son living in Edinburgh. We have travelled a lot and really enjoy meeting new people and hearing about their lives - being a part of their experience, and sharing ours.

    We live right in the middle of the old quarter in a great little town of about 6000 people (Vic en Bigorre). Vic has everything you need at your fingertips - cafes, restaurants, services, shops, and a regionally known market on Saturday mornings two minutes from our front gate. We are also close to many other cool places - not far from vineyards, mountains and sea, historical sites, etc. Larger cities of Tarbes (20 minutes) and Pau (45 minutes) are not too far away. Spain is a 2-hour drive.

    This is a huge outdoor sports area so if you are sporty you can find plenty of activities - especially cycling and hiking (we've got mountain bikes). We love music and have many musician friends.

    Our property is large - we live in an apartment of 3 bedrooms that used to be an orangerie, but there is also the big main house with all its original features and the old servants' quarters as well. All accessible from an enclosed courtyard. If you like history wrought in stone, wood and plaster you'll like this place. We have a nice big peaceful garden (despite being right in the middle of town) with a canal-side terrace and a jacuzzi for the cooler months. There's a nature park nearby, a big heated community pool/sauna, and a river, and a lot of town festivities throughout the year.

    We have three slightly goofy but lovely dogs. And a range of classic cars being restored as well (Jeff is a classic auto mechanic in addition to working on the house).

    We love to cook with fresh ingredients and feed people so if you like to eat you are welcome! We can cater for vegans, vegetarians, gluten free, whatever your needs. If you are vegan or vegetarian, we would ask for your assistance in ensuring you have meals you are happy with (we eat meat). There are plentiful food shops within 2 minutes of the door.

    Our friends nearby have had many workaways over the years and it has always been a pleasure to spend time together - it's a true exchange, so we can keep travelling without leaving the terrace.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our area of France is very 'French' in the sense that it is the agricultural heartland of the country rather than an economy based on tourism. There is tourism, especially linked to religious pilgrimage and Lourdes nearby, but it tends to be eco-friendly, cultural, sport or culinary tourism rather than what you would find, for example, on the Mediterranean coast. We live in a true French community with a great vibe and the classic laidback lifestyle, which is why we moved here - to learn the language, have a better work-life balance, get back to nature, and contribute to preserving a small but beautiful part of French heritage. On the other hand, if YOU are French, we can introduce you to American and British culture, English language and plenty of related experiences. My husband and I are southerners - from Alabama and North Carolina, respectively - and we spent 8 years in England also. Our close tribe of friends and acquaintances here is multi-cultural - French, English, Dutch, Norwegian, etc. So there are many opportunities to experience new cultures!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Fundamentally we just need an extra pair of hands. I work full time and sometimes travel and so Jeff is oftentimes left on his own to do things that are so much easier with two people! Everything from diy projects to gardening to running errands. No specific skillsets are required, just a positive attitude and a willingness to help - and get your hands dirty. If you do have specialist skills that seem relevant, that's great too, let us know! A driving license would be a plus since we may need help with the school run.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Holandés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    For your accommodation we offer our spare bedroom with the toilet and shower room right next door (shared with us). Or, if you want more personal space, there's a single bedroom in the old conciergerie (butler's chambers - there are photos in the gallery), or a caravan tucked into the barn.

    The spare bedroom has a queen-sized bed and wardrobe with hanging space and drawers. The conciergerie bedroom opens off of a very cool, 18th century space with a dining / music room with an open fire (shared with us). The caravan has a double bed, table, electrics etc - you do have to come inside for toilet and bathroom but it is only 30 steps across the courtyard.

    We are very happy to make you comfortable if, for example, you need additional furnishings. The apartment is fairly small and intimate but there's a lot more space to spread out on the property. During the day Jeff is outside and I am often working elsewhere on weekdays, so we hopefully wouldn't crowd you.

    We have high speed fibre internet. For entertainment there's the world's smallest tv (our teenager is encouraging a replacement!) with various streaming services, a Playstation, and very good sound systems including one where we have a turntable (we like our music, including vinyl!). Books in English galore.

    For food we are happy to share - eating together is a pleasure. We can teach you some American, British or French specialities if you like. If you want to cook, we'll happily provide the ingredients - we like pretty much everything and are adventurous. For breakfast and lunch we will ensure there is plenty of food in the house - and you can get what you need from the nearby shops as well. We usually only sit down together properly for an evening meal and you would be welcome to join us any or every day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your time off you can explore the town and surrounding villages, take one of our bikes out, or we can help you organise other activities according to your interests. We don't have an extra car but will happily drive you around so long as we plan in advance. We also have a very active social circle with a pretty endless series of dinners, parties, events - while you are here, you are part of the family and you will be welcome to join us and meet a lot of great people.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have worked from home for 10 years although now I spend some weekdays in another town. We have high speed fibre internet in the house and 4G outside. There is no designated office so you'd be working from the kitchen table or similar.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a courtyard that could accommodate a modest sized camping car. Please feel free to contact us to discuss this option.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 392292942667

Comentarios (1)

Comentarios


Let's VanLife together and develop sustainable projects across Europe
Vegetable garden and garden-in-motion project in Corbenay, France