Help at our animal sanctuary and permaculture project in Castiglione Di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy

Country

Italia

actualizado  

472 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    23  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    98.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Dear WORKAWAYers,

    In summer 2020 we bought a beautiful property in Sicily with an amazing view on Etna and started our animal sanctuary with permaculture project.

    I’m Christin, 35 years old from Germany, and I quit my office job some years ago to go traveling. Since quite some time I had the feeling and desire though to use my time “better”, to create something beautiful and make this world a bit better. I love animals and I’d love to live off-grid and self-sustainable (one day).
    My partner Luca is 30 years old, from Italy (Torino). He's a musician and traveled the world even more than me.
    We're both vegan and want to give something back to Mother Earth, hence our project.

    At the moment 31 animals are living with us (14 cats, 8 dogs and 9 chickens, two of the cats are paralyzed). We set up a food forest, a vegetable garden, structures for animals and humans.

    Activities here include: helping with planting trees, planting or transplanting vegetables, work in the vegetable garden, weeding, watering trees, mulching, harvesting, preserve or transform produce, pruning olive trees, harvesting olives, making compost, distributing manure or worm-tea, making fire-breaks in the forest, chop and store firewood. Also spending time with the animals, taking them for walks, cleaning their areas, bringing supplies, feeding, etc.
    We also started our little seed-bank, having old varieties of vegetables, especially from Sicily, and we also preserve ancient and rare varieties of fruit trees from Sicily, so occasional activities could be harvesting, curing and storing seeds correctly, or grafting fruit trees.

    We share the tasks of cooking (vegan food, fresh local produce and often from the garden) and household chores. We usually have lunch and dinner together, which we consider very important moments to meet and exchange opinions. We have a shaded space for camping nearby our (always open) house, with a compost toilet and electricity point. Kitchen, toilet, shower and other facilities are in our house, 20meters away from the camping area. We can provide headlamps, rubber boots, tents, camping mattresses, sleeping bags. Occasionally also our campervan could be used as accomodation. We can provide our hotspots as wifi if you need it.

    Luca can share information about olive farming, natural agriculture, permaculture, agroforestry, food sovereignty, local wild plants foraging, and how we try to preserve old varieties of fruit and vegetables; Christin can tell you more about the foundation of an animal sanctuary, animal welfare, animal rights, and much more.

    In the days off you can hike on Etna, go to the river, to the sea, or wonder around the area of our house, which includes forests and archeological features (and many of our rescued dogs, cats and chickens!).

    Thank you so much for taking the time to read our profile and we’d love to hear from you! Any questions - just let us know!

    Much love,
    Luca & Christin

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You have the possibility to be part of a very nice project and shape its future together with us. You can bring up any idea and we can discuss different possibilities and learn and grow together.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We welcome help caring for our animals and need help building areas for them. Also depending on the season our plants have to be watered or we need help planting or harvesting. Dishes have to be washed, food has to be prepared etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You can either camp on our property, so sleep in a tent or in a hammock (in summer). Or you could also stay in our campervan when it’s free.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Just contact us for any further info. Thank you :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for a campervan on our property.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)
















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 371185842148