Help with garden, olive harvesting and other building projects in Sicily, Italy



873 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    A warm welcome from Angelo&Cristina to all those people who want to share with us our new life in a more sustainable economy.
    In 2010 we decided to quit our job and buy a little piece of land facing Mt. Etna and the ocean.
    The land was owned by Don Alfio's family, who was super happy to give us his land and help us with all his suggestions to build our new economy! This land was giving food for 3 generations to don Alfio's family, so it was set to survive in the best way. We have 110 olive trees, 100 various fruit trees and a vegetable garden.


    In SUMMER we look for volunteers who can help in keeping on going the veggie garden, cleaning, feed cat and dog, housesitting and eventually others small duties. The accommodation will be in a tent settled under the olives tree, so you should love being in contact with nature. We prefer long terms volunteers.
    Beside the farm we run a little tour business with a sail boat, it may happen that you will be involved in the maintenance of the boat or helping with the tours.

    In OCTOBER/NOVEMBER we work on the olive harvesting, it is the most intense moment at the farm. Once that the olives are ready we have to harvest it asap.We use to work with a different timetable, it is 2,5 days working and 1 day rest, so that none of us will be too tired. Beside the harvesting you will learn everything about the Extra Vergine Olive Oil, with a lot of tasting and dishes based on this incredible oil!...

    In January/March we'll prune the olive trees. It will be a long process, at least one month on and under the trees, moving branches, chopping, ect...

    In April/May we work on spring maintenance of the house and the new vegetable garden.

    In June/July we need help for the maintenance of the house, the watering the veggy garden, cleaning, ect.

    The rest of the year we are on the maintenance of the garden and house with sustainable construction systems, and we need help from people who has any experience in construction or who want to learn a new "constructive" job!
    All year around we need help to maintain the sailboat, in this case you will be hosted on board. The boat is moored in Marina di Riposto.

    Here and there during the year we leave for vacation period and we need housecares to stay with the cat and dog.

    Our land is on a sloop, ruled by terraces made in stones walls. As these walls were build 300 years ago, our priority is to maintain it in order to keep the land on site. So anyone with experience in this field or with a good attitude is always welcome!

    From October to May you will be hosted in a old caravan restored with private toilet, shower and a panoramic deck or in a tent under the olives trees.

    We normally work 5 days per week, and we don't have a fixed timetable, we work until we enjoy to stay in nature...

    We both speak Italian, English and Cristina also French and Danish.

    About FOOD: We love to cook Mediterranean food (of course mainly with veg garden products), we are not vegan/vegetarian but we eat very few meat or animal product and only when we are sure that the animals had been growing in nature. We are strictly season-arian, that means we eat only what grow in the season, no products from green houses or coming from far away. This make our diet very unique and testy.
    We can support vegetarian diet or special diet due to a disease, but any other special "request" or food restriction is not welcome, as food is a very much important item in our exchange.

    We kindly recommend you to show up when you take an engagement with us. When someone reserve a period here and then disappears, it creates a damage to other volunteers who will receive a negative answer for the same period.
    For all those who use this web site to look for a temporary residence and apply for Italian citizenship, we are sorry but we cannot help you. You will be hosted in a caravan and under Italian law you cannot set up a residence in a mobile home.

    We believe that to live in a better world, we don't need too many rules and laws, but just respect for others and nature.
    Waiting to share good time together,

    All the best

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will stay in a farm where 80% of the food is provided from the garden, you will learn how to grow your own vegetables and to cook it.

  • Ayuda


    Help needed in maintenance of the house and the garden, no special skills are required but just strong arms! MINIMUM STAY 2 WEEKS

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will be hosted in a old caravan restored with private toilet, shower and a panoramic deck. In summer we rent the caravan and the volunteers are hosted in a tent.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    From the farm you can visit the surround by bus, train, car...nearby you have the beautiful beach of Marina di Cottone, Month Etna, The Alcantara gorge, Taormina, ect...
    When possible you will join our sailing tours.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a decent wi fi connection and you are welcome to "digital working" during your spare time.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Campervan are welcome, maximum 6 mt.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week maximum...depending from your attitude! and which kind of work is going at the moment.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 318815724997