Join a family with gardening and building projects near Matagalpa, a vibrant coffee centre city of Nicaragua

Country

Nicaragua

81 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/05/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My wife, our one year old daughter and I have a farm in the mountains of Nicaragua. We have cows, pigs, dogs, bananas (lots of bananas!) and are expanding our list monthly. We are about to plant an acre of passion fruit to see how the goes.
    We were going to build cabanas and offer farm stays/horse back tours through coffee country,.. and we will when the tourists come back. There are currently only very adventurous travellers here at the moment, although the political situation is up in the air at the moment, Nicaragua is still far safer than other countries in Central America.
    As our number of animals increases we are constantly building new accommodation for them, just finishing stage one of the new pig house and planting an acre of sorghum and beans to keep them fed.
    Our goal is self sustainability including food for ourselves, 3 full time workers and the 50 odd animals roaming about the place.
    I am Canadian, my wife is Salvadorena and Trixie is probably qualified for 4 passports.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will definitely learn Spanish if you work with our guys. You will learn a lot about rural Nicaraguan life and more technical stuff like how to tube a cow, how to shoe a horse, how to pull a stuck calf, even how to administer IV fluids if you choose.
    If you choose to work around the house and gardens instead of the barn, you will learn how to compost, build a raised garden, manage an irrigation system. Opportunities are endless. Our typical week includes welding, carpentry, brick laying, gardening, animal wrangling and cooking. Lots of cooking! I am a former chef and my wife an excellent baker, hopefully our brick oven will be up and running, if not, you can help build it and learn how to make refractory cement at home!
    Opportunities to volunteer at the local school (which is next door) are available teaching grades 1 through 7. Distributing smokeless wood stoves, training horses (our foreman is a master horse trainer- requires good knowledge of Spanish obviously) learning about the coffee industry, cultivating, picking, pulping...
    Lots to do here.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Gardening, building stuff, looking after baby cows if they aren't feeling well. We are also involved in distributing smokeless stoves to the community with the financial assistance of a group of vet clinics in Canada. Hopefully bringing tourists on horse back tours through coffee country will be a thing again soon as well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As of now, you will be living in the main house in the guest room, private bath, garden access, mountain view and all the dogs you wish to cuddle with. Guest house, 100 metres away is ready to be built. Foundation in place, stones and wood ready,... come build it! Dinner will be with us (Saturday is pizza night) where you will eat with a very entertaining 1 year old. We eat simply for breakfast and lunch (oatmeal or eggs for breakfast, bruschetta or quinoa for lunch and extravagantly for dinner,.. roast chicken with garlic mashed potatoes, butternut squash, arugula/beet salad for dinner tonight)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are 40 minutes from Matagalpa, a vibrant coffee centre city of Nicaragua. 20 minutes up the mountain is deep jungle and coffee plantations. Quetzals and exotic birding, jungle walks at Esperanza Verde, indigenous villages, but really, you will just want to sit on the steps, stare at the view and pet the dogs, play fetch with Spooky the cattle dog and have a cold beer after a day of work. That is what we do at least.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.5)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 346657671739