new host  

Enjoy outdoor activities and help with giving new life to an old wood in Vila de rei, Portugal

  • Favourited 2 times
  • Last activity: 20 may 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Climbing the mountain and sailing the river, I spend my days in the company of mother nature. In winter I pick mushrooms, in spring I sit admiring the flowers, in summer I dry fruits, in autumn I sow acorns.

    I recently started rebuilding a house that I inherited from my grandparents not far from the mountain house where I live, I discovered that unlike my little mountain house that I built alone, in this grandparents' house I will need one, or two, extra pairs of hands.

    Open to welcome, share the abundance of nature and the garden and pay fairly, in exchange for some help with reconstruction. I'm happy to share my knowledge of stone and earth construction, creativity in recovering used construction materials

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Construcción y bricolaje
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to share my knowledge in building with stone and earth as was done in the past and in the recovery and adaptation of wood and other materials recovered from old buildings. In addition to this main activity, also available to share knowledge of collecting mushrooms and wild plants. Possibility to help in the family garden. There will be a small wooden boat available. I'm happy to introduce you to the multicultural community of people I interact with regularly.

  • Help

    Help

    At this stage of the project we are working on recovering beautiful old wood for the floor structure. In the following steps we will assemble the floor and rebuild parts of the wall with stone and earth. It won't require much physical workwall with stone and apart from being good company, it won't require any special skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Portuguese: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be accommodated in a guest room in my house on the edge of a large lake, Castelo de Bode, surrounded by nature and peace. Shared bathroom, with hot water from solar panels. Alternatively, if you prefer, you can bring your tent or caravan. . Food provided by the host, cooked together. My diet is essentially vegetarian, but there is always the possibility of adapting to other diets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Central area of Portugal. Mountainous relief, Mediterranean forests with pine trees, Quercus and scrublands. Mild, wet winters, hot, dry summers. Public transport is scarce but I have my own vehicle for travel. As a rule, I will be away from the house a few days a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The area does not have fiber optic network coverage, but there is good 4G network coverage that I usually use to hold online meetings.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    21 hours for week

Host ref number: 144555586836

Feedback

Bush Retreat and Holistic Sanctuary – Looking for Help-full Volunteers in Vila Ruiva, Portugal
Help with DIY in the Algarve, Portugal