Volunteer to help a family with their projects such as Apiary keeping (honey Bee hives) in California, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

157 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    264

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi I am Paul and I am a single father of two children who are about to enter their teens. We live in what could be considered the countryside. I own a modest small house with a large front and back yard just under 1 acre in size.

    I have worked for Redwood National Park and Six Rivers National Forest as a Biological Technician for many years. My work consisted of forestry, fire effect data collection, wildlife surveys. Currently I work for my school district as an energy technician.

    We have two cats and a fish. Please be aware of this if you are allergic to cats. I am working on getting my bee hives up and going. Please be aware I have a bee hive if you are allergic to it. I put the hive on a platform in a part of the yard that is out of way.

    Update January 22,2017.

    I will be getting my new bee Nuc sometime in April. As of yet the weather has been too rainy and soggy to do much work in the yard. I am hoping for some drier weather in March or April.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I host visitors from other countries to learn about their culture and ways, I hope to have them learn about my remote corner of the World. I may live in California but being so remote my town is isolated and different. I am a Biologist by training and previous work at Redwood National Park and consider myself a naturalist.
    I hope to teach my visitors about creating a very light foot on this Earth, finding ways to become less reliant on the grocery store.
    I subsidize my food by collecting it from the forest, ocean and the yard. I am an accomplished mycologist and collect edible mushrooms when in season. My research on my off time which I am posting to my YouTube channel and Website needs an open mind from visitors. I am not going to push it on anyone.
    Relaxation and yoga, a less materialistic and more down to earth way of life.

    I am wanting a very relaxed atmosphere and I don't want anyone to feel like a slave but rather we work together to accomplish these tasks so they get completed as quickly as possible.

    I think it is a great learning experience for my children. If you have children, especially between 7 and 11 then my children would love to have you visit.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I need help with:
    - Apiary keeping (honey Bee hives)
    - Expanding my garden with herbs and vegetables. Care and trimming of my fruit trees
    - re-building my property boundary fences
    - build a pond for food for fish and a greenhouse
    - general maintenance
    - Art work sculptures I have planned for my front yard.
    - Collecting, cutting and stocking firewood for heating the house.
    - Technical assistance with WordPress for my website
    - Technical assistance in making my YouTube channel videos and video editing
    - Teaching me how to play my guitar better as well as my flute.
    - Cooking since I suck at it!!

    Help with any of these will suffice.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a private bedroom with a double bunk bed. These beds are comfortable and full size. There is one bathroom we will need to share. There is a full kitchen and laundry facilities. High Speed Wifi. The house is located 4.5 miles northeast of the town of Crescent City, CA.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I live literally across the street from Jedediah Smith Redwood State park which is part of Redwood National Park. There are miles of hiking trails in the parks and surround forest and beaches.

    I have male and female bikes for visitors to use if they would like to bike around the coastal plain which is flat.

    The Smith river is a couple miles from the house and is the cleanest river in the West. There is plenty of swimming and natural beaches on the river. There is rafting, kayaking and other river activities. I have a three person inflatable raft visitors can use.

    Fishing both in rivers and the ocean. Fishing will require a state license but on the pier and jetty in town anyone can legally fish and crab without a license. I have fishing poles and crap pots for use and can help.

    Camping in the local mountains and I have the equipment one can use. I would be happy to accompany and show the person around on the their time off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Small dogs only. I have two cats but they are fine with very small dogs

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 273595853129