Help out on a small rural homestead in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire, USA


Estados Unidos


474 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    I have an openings for a private rooms for yourself or you and a friend. Outdoor shower , sinks. Chores right now for learning new skills are preparing bricks for walkways and the hoop house, splitting wood stacking wood, cutting brush, Building and setting up the hives, chicken care, Finishing the hoop house, gardening, lawnmowing, building gates, preparing areas for camping in the woods,Pulling nails out of repurposed wood thatWe will be using in the finishing of the walls in the tiny kitchen. And the last skill that you could learn is how to prune the raspberries. I’m sure there is much more but that gives you an inkling of what you could choose for your learning experiences. All useful skills for living a simple life and living sustainably.

    It is almost summer land we have projects.But you must be prepared to work outdoors. This means you must have some sturdy footwear That can get dirty, a raincoat, gloves and a layer for cool weather.The outdoor tasks that you will be working on would be moving and splitting and stacking wood. Cutting and burning brush and caring for chickens. Outdoors is a composting toilet and a sink and shower with hot and cold water. We will be meeting outdoors and working outdoors.

    In the summer I have Rustic rooms with beds for one person or two people traveling together. Even a yurt. Everything else is outdoors. Also you have to be content with your own company.
    Open for volunteers but plan on social distancing, sanitizing (plan on cleaning your area before you leave) and wearing a mask when necessary ( bring one) Also request that workawayers are not commingling with outside persons ( time off can be enjoyed with outdoor activities like hiking).
    The homestead will be our platform for meeting and learning and working. And the pond for swimming. Tasks : gardening, new hoop house green house preparation ( we are erecting the door ends of the frame now) , moving dirt and rocks and compost, chicken care and repair, more compost maintenance and clean up some forest areas for continuing a permaculture area. Weeding and lawn mowing, splitting and stacking wood. Bee care. The Food is mostly vegan, plenty of whole grains, fruits and vegetables, tea, water and eggs . We also have basic canned foods. There is a 9 o’clock quiet time and a request to play personal music using earbuds, also no drugs alcohol or smoking.

    My small rural solar homestead is in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire. I have an extensive garden of herbs, flowers and vegetables, chickens, and a wood lot. You can participate in day to day living of a simple life. I have a list of helping experiences and you can choose what you would like to do, or what you would like to learn. You must be self motivated because you’ll often be helping out on your own. Three hours of help a day will leave plenty of time for your own hobby or adventuring.

    What to bring, your ear plugs and buds if you are sensitive to noise or want to listen to audio , a water bottle, a flashlight, coffee if herb tea and water isn’t enough, your favorite foods if you can’t live without them, Stout shoes that are good for getting dirty , wet and working in, work gloves and weather appropriate clothing. It gets cold here at night. Also if you are coming between the middle of May in the middle of June we have black flies. A head net Might be desirable to bring with you.
    You must have your own transportation. There is no public transportation to This part of New Hampshire. You must also be vaccinated.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about simple living, gardening, pruning, wood stacking and composting.

    Learn about heating with wood. Experience berry pruning techniques and gardening skills and caring for chickens and bees. This is a hands on learning experience. Live the simple life, quiet and peaceful. Must be able to help independently and take instruction.

  • Ayuda


    Help with cleaning up some forest areas, moving rocks for walls, compost building and moving, cutting wood. Take care of chickens. There are always chores outdoors , so be prepared. Opportunities to learn how to garden, including weeding, compost, no till, and harvesting. This house hold eats mostly vegan and sometimes eggs ( if the old hens are laying )and mostly no alcohol or drugs. No smoking.
    I work often as the town librarian. So I am often out and you would have time on your own. You may make your schedule.
    We have light carpentry projects which you may help on depending on where we are with them. One is a chicken run, Help completing the hoop house and redistributing of wood piles, compost piles, dirt piles, rocks In the spring, summer and fall I have wood to stack for the winter, gardening, berry picking and pruning, turning compost, small painting jobs, brush clearing and help with processing herbs and vegetables.Bees and chickens and the occasional guest dogs need easy care too.Also preparing new areas for use by removing trees , roots , debris and rocks. If anyone is handy, they could build more cold frames. I need 3 hours a day or 21 hours a week. You may make your own schedule. Helping more one day to have another off. I do short stays of a week up to a month.
    A note on the country biome : testing positive for dust, mice, squirrels, chipmunks, dirt, bugs, wild animals including bears, raccoon, coyotes, moose, otter, deer and bobcats.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Accommodation : The rooms have beds for two people. They can be used for one person or two people traveling together. You will have a private room but will share other facilities. The other facilities are all outdoors. This includes the outdoor shower and outdoor sinks with hot and cold water. (The outdoor water facilities are drained once the weather starts freezing ) It is simple living here. We do not heat any of our out buildings Where you will be staying unless it is by wood.There is van camping. The food is mostly vegan. .Water and tea to drink. You may bring other food if you would like. You will be preparing your own meals from the garden and from basic foods that I will supply. Oatmeal, pasta, sauce, tea, spices, beans, rice and other grains , Vegetables, fruits. Pets are welcome when staying in the barn or a van, with the awareness that free range chickens are in the yard and that your pet will stay in your space.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will have to have your own transport, unless you want to hike, swim, and go to the library, which are all within walking distance. There is no public transportation. This area is about nature And the outdoors. Also you will have to figure out how to get here . I do not do transport.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Speeds download 6.61 Mbps, upload .98 mbps

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Large Space behind the garage for the van and maybe a small motor home .

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    You may have a pet if you are not staying in the house. Free range chickens on property

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 694761579642