Home projects help with down to earth, creative couple in woods of WV. USA

Country

Estados Unidos

118 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/08/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    462

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 8 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We’re a down to earth, open-minded, creative couple looking for people to help us with home projects. We live in our home seated in the woods of WV, near George Washington National Forest.

    We bought this house in 2014 and it was pretty much just a shell, since then we've installed plumbing, electric, windows, doors, floors, and more, but it's always a work in progress. We've had a few friends help us out along the way, which is why we decided to make a Workaway hosting account, because sometimes it just feels like we need an extra hand. We find working on the house a fun experience, it's a learning process, and it's always rewarding.

    Who we are:
    We're a happy drama-free couple and have been together for 11 years.
    Bob: is an artist, illustrator, and tattoo artist. Bob is laid back, patient, and has a good sense of humor.
    Sarah: is an aspiring herbalist, DIYer, part time farmer/gardener. Sarah is energetic and friendly.
    We also have two dogs, and one cat.
    Our animals are very important to us. They're old (9,12,&15) and one requires special care and looking out for- our black dog pooky is going deaf and can't be around moving vehicles, is easily startled and stressed since she's been losing her hearing.
    So it's just really important to use that our dogs stay safe and comfortable when people are staying with us.

    What we do in our down time:
    After the sun goes down or in our free time you might find us watching a movie, reading, playing video games, making art, and every once in a while we might have a backyard fire with a couple of beers, or some tea. We usually don't stay up past 9 or 10 and generally our home is a pretty relaxed and quiet environment.

    We have a small collection of books on: DIY home projects, design, trees, plants, herbs, holistic, philosophy, art, and comics.

    During the weekends, we like to go hiking, kayacking (we have a tandem and two singles), foraging, check out haunted places, to Winchester, play video games, explore the local area, watch movies, read, draw, or just chill out & relax. We're the type of couple that likes a good blend of both social interactions and privacy.

    What’s in the area:
    There will be plenty of time to check out the local area, or get involved with art (we have tons of supplies). We live on 5 wooded acres with a creek. We are a 5 minute walk from a Theravada Buddhist Society (who welcomes visitors), 10 minute drive from Cacapon river access, 20 minute drive from two small towns with art, music, and local culture type stuff, and 35 minute drive from larger city (Winchester, VA), there’s a good bit to do there, a nice old town area, music, historical attractions, and various place to shop, eat—etc. Shenandoah National Forest and Skyline Drive is an hour away. Washington DC is about a 3 ¹/² hr drive or so. We're also a 15 minute drive from the Eagle Rock hiking trail (great view), and tons of other hiking and geocaching trails.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can teach you:

    About art and illustration, how to make mead, change a tire or oil in your car, about herbs, wild foraging, basic carpentry, basic electric, basic car mechanic work, plant and tree identification, how to make herbal medicine, tinctures, decoctions, salves, lip balm, and infusions, diy comics and zines, gardening, homemade kombucha, DIY house projects, kayaking, how to start a fire, homemade Chinese food, skillet bread, how to get creative with building suppies, etc.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Things we’re working on and could use some help with:

    Fixing up a large shed: basic carpentry, adding windows, insulation, hanging wall panel, wood stove set up, etc.

    Home fix up: refinishing hardwood floors (sanding, staining, sealing,) ceiling spackling, sanding and putting up trim and baseboard, painting, drywall.

    Outdoors: power-washing, splitting and stacking firewood, raking leaves, bush transplants (digging), painting, leaf blowing, picking up around property.

    The bus: we recently bought a cheap shortbus and are working on getting it mobile and fixed into a camper.

    Most of the things I have mentioned above have been a learning process for us. Especially as we've been working on the house and property over the past 5 years and learning what it's like to be a homeowner.
    Thankfully I have a handful of skilled uncles who all work in different trades (carpentry, mechanics, drywall, and electricity) so I've learned from them over the years and they've been kind enough to show me how to do some of these things. So it's not like we're trying to get super skilled volunteers to finish up the work for us, were not trying to replace any type of paid work, but offering the opportunity to work alongside us to learn from us and learn together. We wouldn't have anyone do anything that we wouldnt be there right next to them doing ourselves.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodations:

    We have a private room you're more than welcome to stay in. Alternatively if ever you wanted to, you could always camp somewhere on the property, and start a little fire whatnot. We also have space for RV's.

    Like I mentioned earlier, our house is a 'work in progress,' so don't expect anything luxurious, lol.

    When we're doing tasks, I always cook dinner for everyone. We have freezer and fridge space for food that you would like to bring for yourself as well.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Other info:

    Verizon cell service doesn’t work at our house; Sprint, Boost, and AT&T works though, along with a possibly few others.

    We are smokers, but only smoke outside.

    We don't have WiFi, we use the limited data on our phones for internet. If you absolutely need to use for for a short period of time, no problem. But it's super slow, so usually only one person can use it at a time. However, we have had couchsurfers visit the Buddhist society next door and they let them use their wifi in the library. You can also find free wifi at the closest town (20min drive).

    Anyway, this is something you’d be interested in, let us know! Don’t hesitate to share concerns or ask questions, we’re easy going people, if you think you could help with the outbuilding, but can’t split wood, it’s all good, we wouldn't have you do anything you didnt want to or anything that we wouldnt do ourselves. Just let us know! Thanks!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We don't have Wifi at our home. We use our own limited phone data to use the internet, and don't really have enough to share for people working or streaming online. But if you need to use our internet briefly to contact someone online, that's no problem.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Plenty of space to park an rv, van camper, bus - etc. We've have friends park their campers here before and stay.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Possibly. We'd have to talk about it.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 271499169944