Come and help out on a naturist finca in Andalucia, Spain

Country

España

actualizado  

564 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    67  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    PLEASE READ MY PROFILE BEFORE APPLYING - SHORT TERM STAYS ARE NO LONGER POSSIBLE
    Places available from September onwards.

    I am Ian, a retired psychologist from the UK, age 60 and a divorced gay man. For the last two years I have been living for part of the year in a simple stone cortijo house surrounded by 1.5 hectares of olive and almond terraces in the beautiful valley of the Alpujarras, in the mountains south of Granada about an hour from the city and from the sea. During this time I have hosted at least 60 working visitors (from Workaway and other websites), many of whom have left feedback which you can read below.
    For the summer/autumn of 2020 and onwards, I am ONLY looking for a small number of skilled and experienced volunteers who would like to join me and up to 3 others living here for several months, looking after the house and land and taking a lead on construction and gardening projects. Due to Covid I may now have to be away from the cortijo on a regular basis myself, so will be unable to host short term volunteers in the usual way, and I would particularly like to hear from people with substantial horticultural or construction skills, especially in carpentry, vegetable growing and land maintenance (strimming, pruning, landscaping, stone wall building, olive harvesting). I am unable to accept volunteers who are prepared only for light tasks around the house or garden or who need a high level of supervision, and I would be most positive towards older and skilled Workaway travellers who are looking for a more stable lifestyle for a period of time, contributing meaningfully to life at the cortijo and enjoying the benefits of the local town. Potential volunteers will be asked to discuss their application via webchat in the first place, and an initial trial stay of 2 weeks can then be arranged.
    Regarding the "naturist finca" heading here, this listing may particularly appeal to Workaway volunteers who are looking for a naturist/nudist lifestyle and applicants should be open to this, particularly in summer months.....please make this clear in your request to avoid any misunderstanding.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a fascinating area, both historically and geographically, and the main benefit of a stay here is to get to know the region, and experience living in one of the most beautiful and relatively unspoiled parts of Europe. The oldest olive trees on the land were probably planted by the Moorish (Islamic) population who settled here in these valleys for centuries, up until the final ‘reconquista’ of Spain by the Christians in the 16th century. Their ancient ‘acequia’ watering system still works here, making it possible to grow vegetables and fruit trees as well as olives and almonds. The views of the valley and the distant mountains are beautiful, and there is an atmosphere of complete peace and tranquility in the natural surroundings, with wild animals also inhabiting the land. The traditional white villages, established by the Moors throughout the southern slopes of the Sierra Nevada (the area known as 'Las Alpujarras') can be seen on the distant hills.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Looking for help on a variety of projects around the land, and maintaining the vegetable plots. I now am particularly looking for help with construction of compost toilets and an outdoor kitchen, and preparing plots for new tipi accommodation for visitors. The land is spread over seven terraces of olive and almond trees, with rough and sometimes steep tracks in between, so I am unable to accommodate visitors who are not able to manage this easily.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Volunteer accommodation is in the house, which is very simple and basic but equipped for reasonably comfortable living. Visitors will probably have their own room, although the house is quite small and open-plan in the arrangement of rooms, so personal space and privacy are very limited. A separate wooden cabin may be available for a long-term helper to live independently. As owner, I also have a separate cabin away from the house.
    Meals and meal preparation are shared, with food provided as part of the exchange, and housework in the cortijo is also shared. A vegetarian diet is the norm although we occasionally eat meat or fish, and vegan and other diets can usually be accommodated.
    At the moment there is no wifi (although 4g coverage is good) so it's an opportunity to break free from internet addiction for a while.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Alpujarras is a popular area for visitors throughout the year, and there are many interesting sights in the various white mountain villages, and possibilities for hiking and other outdoor activities. With a car, several beaches (including three nudist) can be reached in under an hour.
    The local market town (Orgiva) is only 15-20 mins walk away, so visitors are able to be fairly independent without a car here. There are buses from there to the local mountain villages, the coast, and to Granada city (75 mins). Malaga is a 3 hour direct bus trip away, although can be reached by car in about 90 mins.
    It is important that all visitors have their own arrangements in place to access healthcare (European health insurance card or private insurance), and are prepared to accept liability for their own safety during their stay, including only taking on work tasks in which they feel skilled and confident. Copies of identity documents and emergency contact details will also be asked for.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)








































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 229275658667