Ayuda a renovar una propiedad en Calais Francia

  • 38 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 11 jul 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    I have been a Workaway host for over four years, welcoming over fifty-three fantastic, spirited souls from at least twelve different countries! Since then, some of my original guests have come back for working holidays two or three times and many keep in regular touch with me on Facebook from wherever they have travelled on to all over the world. Hosting and working along with my teams has been an unforgettable, positive experience - there was even a subsequent wedding!........and I do know that the food was a great success from the feedback I received over the years.

    Le Manoir is a lovely 16th century feudal manoir in northern France, complete with tower, meter thick walls, huge wooden beams and four massive fireplaces, it is naturally bursting with atmosphere and amazing when candle-lit - and has fabulous acoustics for every type of music! I have been enjoying the restoration and transformation of this dear old place, but would appreciate some assistance from any creative adventurers out there. I value good company, cooking, music and quality of life.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I realise that my visitors are hoping to absorb as many cultural experiences as possible, so it's great that we're surrounded with friendly and welcoming locals, we're always included in all the village festivals and activities, where everyone can have a good mingle and practice their 'francais'. The old house is situated in the heart of the village, in a valley renowned for its beauty, a favourite with international ramblers, vintage car, motorcycle and cycling clubs. We are 30 minutes from some lovely beaches and the village now has the benefit of Sylvain's little shop, from where he sells fresh produce from the local farms and market gardens - three minutes stroll from my front door. The lively town of Le Touquet is 25 minutes away, with its spectacular beaches and dunes, superb for sailing, windsurfing, kitesurfing, sand-yachting - and excellent nightlife. There are also a couple of guitars and other musical instruments available.

    We are only two and a half hours from Paris, Bruxelles and Bruges - and just over three hours door to door from London. I have a nine-seater minibus, so sometimes we load up and go for a picnic in the dunes, or searching for treasure in the local village brocantes and town flea markets, or to one of the many live concerts in the area. There are bikes available for exploring the local lanes and ancient tracks leading to the magical forests and hidden lakes which abound in this area. Additional activities available in the valley are: horse-riding; kayaking; canoeing; fishing; swimming; tennis; bird-watching. There are also occasional eco-building classes held locally, where we have already enjoyed learning the skill of wattle and daub (torchis) construction, I will be watching for more opportunities like this for us this summer.

  • Ayuda


    Most of the major projects in the main building have been completed - some of the interior walls need to be repointed and painted and the floor tiles are waiting to be laid - but generally, it is now down to the more decorative stage. The manoir very much dictates what is needed in way of restoration and having been in the antiques business for a number of years, I've had the chance to find the appropriate ancient pieces, ie doors etc. to go with its medieval heritage. It is not a vast property, so I don't want to overdo the restoration with too many twiddly bits! I try to salvage and re-use materials as much as possible and have sourced and inserted period fittings in keeping with the age of the place. I'm planning to lay a flagstone terrace behind the house and I would also love to rebuild the old tower to its original height! There is also re-roofing to be done on the small outbuilding attached to the manoir. Anyone with experience in masonry, building, decoration, plumbing or electrics is very welcome, but just pure enthusiasm is also greatly appreciated!

    The garden is in need of attention, as I have been away for a few months. It is meadow-like, with a wide variety of fruit trees and bushes, surrounded on two sides with a hedge, this all needs mowing and cutting back, and the old vegetable patch rediscovering! There are three small flower beds at the front of the house to be weeded and the area tidied up - nothing fancy!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    The interior of the house is arranged on three floors with three double bedrooms and two bathrooms, with a further double bedroom and bathroom on the way. Naturally, the place is a bit dishevelled and off-beat at the moment, but it has a very unique, lovable personality - everyone remarks on how homely and welcoming it is and settles into their niche!

    We have lots of barbecues and I love to cook international dishes, making sure the helpings are generous! Sometimes, I become the sous-chef and let someone take over the kitchen, a great way for us all to experience dishes from around the world.

    In the case of any emergencies, i.e. unplanned workawayers, when the house is full, I have a substantial top-of-the-range three-room tent, which I pitch amongst the trees. Any laundry is cared for by me!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The manoir is only half an hour from three railway stations, and the Dover ferry ports and Eurotunnel are just under an hour away. I'm always willing to meet my Workawayers on arrival - and, of course, taxi them back to their chosen port or station at the end of their stay. Anyone with a campervan is welcome, there's plenty of space in the courtyard in front of the house and heavy duty cables are available to connect to the electricity..

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Lots of space. Have had motorhomes here often. Electricity connection.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Five hours a day, five days a week - with flexibility.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 15616695234b

Comentarios (25)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)