Forest conservation and farm project in Hualaihue Puerto, Patagonia, Chile

Country

Chile

69 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/06/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello there! My name is Juan José (30 years old) and I am looking for all sorts of different people who want to stay by our farm/sanctuary to help in any way you feel like to. We are located in the northen gate of Patagonia (as it's known), 75 kilometers south of the city of Puerto Montt in a rainforest-dominated 20 hectares farm in the Patagonia Verde region (Cochamó, Hualaihué, Chaitén, Palena). In the past 2 centuries, the area was scarcely populated being cut off from most of the country and people depended on the sea and earth for food and the forest for logging-related activities being nowadays tourism begining to take-off. The farm has sheep and dogs whom are to be attended and cared daily. Building projects such as barns, sheds, greenhouses, fence making/repairing and general maintenance of the farm are the main activities. As the farm has been running for only 3 years, there is still much work to be done and new projects may emerge in the future.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Had been an exchange student and lived in many countries, I can only say there is no bad experience when it comes to living abroad, there is bad, good, strange, wonderful, amazing and shocking moments that can only make you grow as a person. The benefits and new things one can learn are up to each one personaly, what is it that you want from an experience like this one? that's the first question and from that on you can learn and feel free to experience whatever your daily country life will throw at you.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As mentioned above, being the tasks many and of all sorts, helpers are not required to have any previous knowledge about any specific subject. In country life any sort of help is well-received, but if you happen to have some knowledge in carpentry, building, music, cooking, farming, botanics, biology, animal-care, and so on that will be amazing!!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Holandés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a recently built timber house that can sleep up to 6 people with hot running water and fire stove for cooking/heating. There is electricity and back-up generators in case of power cut. Another cabin for couples or single people is currently under construction so are the toilets and showers for the camping site in case travelers want to make camping in the forest and stay in a more rustic way. Food is provided by the host (all three meals) and travelers are encouraged to cook their local meals as it is an amazing way to exchange our different cultures.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As mentioned above, the farm is located 75kms from the city of Puerto Montt and the route goes like this: from the Central bus station of Puerto Montt it's 45kms of paved route following the coast line conecting with the small harbour of "Caleta La Arena". From there it's a 25 to 35 minute ferry ride to the harbour "Caleta Puelche", once touching land it's another 25 kilometers through the "Carretera Austral" (Austral Highway) all recently paved arriving at the gate of the farm. Bus fares range from $3,500 to $5.000 chilean pesos depending the service and the ferry ride is free for people traveling by foot or bus, if arriving by car or truck the fare is $10.300 chilean pesos (payment is only for the vehicle) for the crossing.
    The bus ride take from 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Patagonia is a land of forests, lakes, rivers, volcanoes and mountains, helpers are encouraged to visit the many national parks and reserves available in the neaby being trekking, climbing, kayaking, rafting, fishing and hunting some of the many activities you can do once being here. Parque Nacional Hornopirén and Parque Nacional Pumalin are the biggest protected areas, being the Volcanoes: Hornopirén, Yates and Michinmahuida the biggest land marks. Fauna such as the puma (mountain lion), pudu (dwarf deer), wood-pecker, monito del monte and darwin's frog are the most iconic animals and the Alerce tree being the most long-lived in the country many dating back from 1.000 to 3.500 years old.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 or 5 days a week (depending)



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 129218845752