From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/11/2018 - 31/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Open-ended travel through Europe this winter during the off-season from my job as a kayak guide.
    I chose work away because I want to interact with people in their home lands and take part in their particular way of life, rather than simply seeing the sites without a local's eye. As for what I can provide in return, in general, I love building things and seeing tangible results of a job well done. My gardening experience consists of growing up with an extensive garden and small orchard, so weeding, harvesting, and culling are familiar tasks. I have done some work with goats, sheep, turkeys, and chickens on another work-away, and am comfortable around animals. In terms of maintenance and handiwork, I have done various building projects including roofing and framing, indoor and outdoor patch jobs on fences and the like, and do some artistic/functional woodworking for my own use. For most tasks, if I don't know how do to it yet, I am happy to stare at it and respectfully tinker until I can make it work. Last but not least, food is one of the great joys in my life. I hope to share some of my beloved dishes and taste a few of yours.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • What skills do you have?

    General carpentry/woodworking

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish

  • Age


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      wheat, corn, dairy

    • Special dietary requirements
      Can't eat wheat, corn, or dairy; am quite happy to provide for myself food-wise if diet is a struggle to accommodate, or cook things for the group.