Marielle

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/09/2018 - 30/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1028

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Who I am: California-native travelling through Latin America/Spain with the intention of immersing myself into new cultures and sharing my own - especially through food... always through food!
    Cooking, eating, music and laughs are essential, and I always try to make time to kite surf, play volleyball, read, and be near the sea (bonus when I can do them all at once)! I have met so many amazing volunteers and hosts during this journey, and am eager to continue to do so.
    My Workaway experiences: Since September '18, I have volunteered in various hostels, a restaurant, farms, vineyards, a travel agency, with families constructing houses, cooking and caring for kids. I have designed and painted (basic) murals, translated web pages and business documents, interfaced with clients and translated in both English and Spanish, constructed a house "de barro," worked with animals, labor involved with maintaining a large sustainable permaculture farm and vineyards. I was a kitchen team member at a Chilean restaurant, cooked for teams of 15-20 farm employees/volunteers in Ecuador, and created only vegan dishes for a family (though I myself am not vegan).
    Previous work experience: As a fundraiser, I planned events in NYC, San Francisco and Boston, organizing logistics while creating positive guests experiences. Communications and marketing work, editing text content and photos for org's social media platform. I recruited and managed thousands of volunteers for large-scale projects that took place at schools and urban gardens, including painting murals and small construction projects. I managed relationships with school administrators, business partners, and community members.
    Hope to meet you along my journey!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Basic Construction: Garden beds, bookshelves, picnic tables, benches (all from pre-cut wood)
    Cooking
    Food Service Certified
    Basic garden maintenance
    Budget management
    Basic mural painting
    Event Planning
    Fundraising: writing grants, establishing community partnerships, external relations
    Volunteer management: Volunteers from groups of 25 to 1,000
    Youth Development: Tutoring, leading projects for ages 5-18
    Teaching basic healthy eating practices

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    I love to cook, and am looking for opportunities to be more with food. I would especially love to learn from businesses centered around food or hospitality - from restaurants to vineyards or hostels - to understand management of the international hospitality industry.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback