Christian

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 05/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    hi there, i'm obi from germany. by now i'm 36 years years old/young, i wonder when that happened, and i live in the scenic vibrant city of leipzig, in the east-part of germany. it's in a lovely shared apartment, where we have a lot of wood instead of plastic (it's an old building), high ceilings, a comfy kitchen where we bump into each other to catch up on our lives, and quite often i'm lucky and someone is baking a cake or sharing ice-cream:-) not to forget the balcony where we grow our herbs.

    for a living i work for a travelling-bakery, meaning that during the summer-season we go to festivals and town-fairs, where we set up our stall, and bake our specialty (bread filled with cheese, besides other things, in a firebrick oven). in november/december we work christmas-markets. in autums and springs it's time to explore, to read, to sleep in, whatever it is that suits me in that moment. going to the markets for this company is like going on a trip with friends, it's busy and fun and chaotic. i enjoy being able to go to all these festivities in all the different parts of germany. and of course, working only part-time is a luxury i really got accustomed to, and don't want to miss. in recent years, when i felt i needed to get out of the city for a while, i volunteered in really cool community-farms, in spain, and portugal, it's a good feeling to know that time and again i'll have the opportunity to go for little adventures, if i want to.
    for the summer of 2020 all festivities were cancelled. so right now i am having even more leisure time. i am having a really chilled summer. so far i spent my time being in the area where i grew up quite a bit, i still have some friends there, and catching up is something i managed to do. we went for many little adventures, exploring the area, going for hikes and bicyle-trips. also i am still in the process of getting my truck-licence. my company is paying for it, so why not. this week (20th of august) i am having the exam (if this is the right word). and after that, i consider to go for a trip towards spain, as i still have another 3 months before christmas-market starts..

    as for hobbies, i like lots of different things. which comes in handy because this way my life stays exciting.

    I love literature. different worlds. different perspectives.
    I love photography. the feelings pictures can transmit.
    I love science. quantum mechanics, neuro-science. psychology, tech, crypto, environmenal-science. and the increasing need to combine them with one another, and to look from different angles. sometimes i'm in awe of the mysteries that sciences scratch upon. our ignorance they show us. and the visions & ideas which come attached to them.
    I love sports. cycling, skiing, skating, hiking, speedminton, tennis. doing sports is a way for me to reach the 'flow', where I don't have to think. i broke my collarbone recently, so now as a brand-new hobby i discovered going for walks. i was never into that before. but actually it's quite relaxing, who would have thought so.
    I love travelling. I love volunteering. for all it's thousand reasons. for the adventures. for the opportunities to dive into foreign worlds & perspectives & mindsets.

    I love different approaches to life. DIY, no-consumerism, liberty of expression, community-life..

    thank's for reading my profile and considering having me.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    people's skills: i'd say i'm friendly, empathetic and trustworthy. also i would consider myself responsible.

    gardening: preparing beds, building high beds, soil preparation, like mixing manure in, mulching, seeding, transplanting, thinning, weeding, picking, tree planting, creating terraces..

    animal care: herding and milking goats. feeding farm animals. cleaning out stables

    building: building with cob, with nature stones and cement. building terraces, creating beds and fences, building with cans and concrete, building with mud and straw, building simple structures

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    37

  • Nationality

    german

  • What else ...

    thanks for being open enough to participate in this project. and thanks for considering having me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback