Josh

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/11/2019 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Josh Morton. I'm 22. I've lived in Rhode Island, USA my whole life. From the 7th grade I started getting homeschooled, or more specifically "unschooled." For those who don't know what unschooling is, it basically ditches textbooks and focuses on letting kids decide on what it is they want to learn. I was unschooled until the 12th grade, when I started taking college classes. I did very well in my classes as far as grades were concerned, but I felt very unfulfilled by what I was learning and that my personal growth was hindered by the amount of time college took up. The past few years, I have been spending a lot of my time hiking and taking time to understand and be with myself.
    To sum myself up, I would say, temperamentally, I am very relaxed and don't fret over most things. I am very open, love to learn about everything, and there are no topics that I don't want to talk about (as long as they are real and alive.) However I am very driven and have a strong sense of morality and responsibility, in general, but most specifically to other people. I also take developing myself in all dimensions very seriously, but no too much that I can't laugh at myself when I trip up. After all, "The fool is the precursor to the savior." While I do have high standards of myself, I try to be as understanding as possible of other people. Personal growth and helping others are the two things most important to me.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have experience with a wide variety of things. Growing up I helped my Dad on a lot of projects with tasks like, landscaping, stacking wood, painting, woodwork, and construction. More formally, I also worked for my Dad flipping houses for around 6 months, doing things like laying sod, building cabinets and furniture, and more landscaping and woodworking.

    I also spent two months working on a ranch up in Northern California. Each morning I took care of around 30 chickens, feeding, watering, collecting and washing eggs, replacing beds every few weeks. I also would semi regularly check an electrical fence grid for grounding points and splicing any broken wire. I spent a lot of time splitting and stacking wood. I wasn't using a chainsaw but I participated in falling and bucking trees. I participated in a full garlic planting cycle as well as mulch collection to top the garlic for winter. I also helped harvest and clean various crops, as well as break down garden areas as winter came. I helped with a lot of meal prep for groups of 5-20 people.

    The past six months I worked up front at a restaurant/market as a cashier/server. Most of my responsibilities were taking orders, running food, and bussing tables, but I also cut deli meats and cheese for customers or the kitchen, served ice cream, made specialty drinks, and managed a salad bar. I also dishwasher a few times when it was needed. I did various kitchen prep things when needed as well.

    I also have a lot of experience in the woods and hiking. I have been on a few week long solo hikes I don't know that I could be a guide or anything but am very comfortable navigating in and preparing for time in the woods.

    I don't really consider myself an expert in any particular area, but I think I have a good range of skills. For things I am not experienced in, I'm very open to learning new skills, and I am a pretty fast learner, especially if it's hands on.

  • Languages spoken

    english

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    For hosts or other workawayers, if you have any questions you'd like to ask me feel free to reach out and contact me. I'm available on email, messages, phone calls, FaceTime/skype

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback