Jasmine

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/10/2019 - 23/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Jasmine from Melbourne, Australia.
    At home I was working as an Occupational Therapist in the area of community mental health, supporting people in their recovery goals and to live a more fulfilling life. However my contract ended in July 2019 and I wanted to have a change from my busy lifestyle, explore my interest in permaculture further and experience more outdoor and nature based simpler lifestyles. I’ve been travelling, visiting friends and doing Workaway in Europe ever since. Through Workaway I want to learn new skills, gain insight into other cultures, have experiences that is unlike being a tourist and get to know local people and their lifestyle.

    I am a keen gardener, forager, and all round nature lover, and am particularly interested in the philosophy of permaculture and regenerative living. At home I try and grow a lot of my own food, but I would like to develop this skill further. I would also like to gain some skills and knowledge about building, using natural materials and cob, especially since I am interested in building a tiny house one day. I also like knitting, sewing, preserving foods, cooking, playing/listening to music, and could perhaps do some of these things with you.

    I just completed a PDC (Permaculture Design Course) at the beginning of 2019 and was heavily involved in my local community garden for over a year, gardening at working bees and running a monthly produce swap, embracing the “food is free” concept and aiming to increase community engagement and the opportunity to share surplus food (see photos in my profile). I’ve also spent a bit of time volunteering at an organic farm in Melbourne, participating in garlic planting, weeding and tree planting days.

    I consider myself a calm-natured, easy going, caring, patient and practical person, and am willing to give any jobs a go and learn new skills. In my down time, I enjoy having some quiet time either listening to a podcast, reading a book or going for a walk. I also really enjoy good company and conversations about the world/life, etc.

    I hope you will consider hosting me. I look forward to hearing from you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening
    Building compost systems
    Making compost
    Seed raising
    Permaculture design/system knowledge
    Knowledge and experience of foraging wild weeds, mushrooms, flowers and berries
    Cooking
    Preserving/bottling foods
    Cleaning/home maintenance
    Looking after children
    Sewing (including mending)
    Assistance with learning English
    Supporting people with disabilities and mental illness
    Lighting fires
    Helping out at market stalls
    Looking after chickens
    Walking dogs
    Building basic fences to keep chickens in
    Fixing the paling on fences with a hammer and nails
    Lots of patience and a willingness to learn!

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Italian and German

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Attending an eco-poetry workshop at Forest Farm Peace Garden
A herbal medicine and balm making workshop at Forest Farm Peace Garden
Foraging Finferli in northern Italy
Foraged rosehips, chamomile, Achillea and others for tea
A chestnut harvest from an Autumn forage
Working on the compost bays
Found some black Finferli in the forest of somewhere in northern Italy
Foraging rosehips to make tea
Soaking in the sunset on Sifnos island, Greece
Hiking volcanoes in Indonesia
The setup of the produce swap I began at Seaford Food Forest, a community garden in the suburbs of Melbourne

Feedback