Grace

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/06/2016 - 01/07/2016

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    833

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm from Manchester and have recently finished studying biology at university in Edinburgh. I love the outdoors and rural living, and will be coming back to work full-time in Edinburgh so I am travelling to escape the city and in the hope of cultural exchange. I am experienced with horses and ideally am looking for an opportunity to help on a farm or with horses (as well as any other help I can offer)
    I am used to very basic conditions as I lived with a host family in Burkina Faso.
    I did workaway in 2016 in Sri Lanka working on a coconut estate offering general help around the farm and house. It was an amazing experience and I am eager to volunteer again.
    I have travelled in the past to Paris where I was an English tutor for adults. I spent 10 weeks in Burkina Faso where I was primarily an inclusive sports coach for people with mental and physical disabilities; I also helped in the garden, decorating and basic reconstruction, with occupational therapy and physiotherapy, fundraising, and updating social media. I have good experience volunteering in the UK with horses, sports coaching for young people, and have organised a fiction writing competition for 11-13 year-olds to fundraise for charity! Also as part of my degree I have some experience in wildlife and ecosystem management.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Horse riding and animal care, child care, sports coaching, cooking, listening and talking and hospitality/customer service (experience in catering environments and retail). I am willing to try my hand at anything and am physically fit!

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic French

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I have dogs and experience in horse care and can ride relatively well.
    I love wildlife and have a huge interest in sustainable development. I also love to keep fit by playing netball and going to the gym.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, mostly gluten free

Photos

Cycling in Scotland
Little Adams Peak in Sri Lanka
Walking up Snowdon in Wales
Riding in India
Occupational therapy in Burkina Faso

Feedback