Matthew & Sarah

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey,

    My name is Matthew.
    In the past couple of years I have traveled between South East Asia, Nepal and Canada (pre covid-19).
    I am now in British Columbia, with no fixed address at this time.

    I strive on connection with others and the world around me. Naturally, Workaway is an excellent medium to nurture such connections and continue to grow alongside others who are involved in meaningful and important projects, of which I would be honored to be a part of - big or small. I strongly believe in the power of community, love and hard, honest work.

    I have been involved in a number of construction projects (deck building, van building, small renovations etc.) and have a small amount of experience with a Rammed Earth building project. I have worked as a landscaper for a few years and am no stranger to physical labor. I am very interested in deepening my connection and understanding with and of the land through foraging, organic farming, wild crafting, permaculture etc. I am grateful for this opportunity.

    ------------------------------

    Hi! My name is Sarah. I have spent the last few years learning environmental studies in Victoria BC, and travelling throughout Canada.

    I have some experience with farm work, light landscaping, house painting, art projects and gardening.

    I am hoping to further my skills in sustainable farming, construction and herbalism/working with plants. I can offer a strong work ethic and good company. I hope to be a part of projects that will help further my knowledge!

    ——————————-

    We are open to all projects and would love to be able to develop current skills and learn new ones in a healthy, supportive community. We look forward to learning, growing and becoming.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Physical work (experience landscaping, gardening, farming, light construction, etc.)
    Work with children (experience with at-risk youth abroad)
    Musician
    Some computer applications
    House painting
    Art projects
    Farming practices

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    23 & 24

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I am on a mission to see the world and the people on it. I strive off of human interaction and rooting myself in nature. I believe in a personal revolution of mind and working toward becoming a more conscious citizen of Earth. I am very much interested in learning about and becoming involved in permaculture and how to sustainably grow my own food, foraging, herbs and small-scale farming. I tend to lean toward Eco projects but truly am open to any sort of work and assistance. I would be ever thankful for any help and conversation around meditation, yoga, and other healing modalities & disciplines.
    ......

    We have been travelling across Canada and are seeking a place to call home for a little while. We would be happy to be a part of a supportive community and have a lot to share.

    Between us, we have experience with light construction, landscaping, gardening/farming, music, painting and labor.

    Ultimately one day we would like to grow our own food on a parcel of land and learn more about sustainable farming/construction. We are looking to expand our wisdom of life, and can offer some good company along the way.

    We can bring our own accommodation (camper van) if necessary.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback