Matej & Bridget

From: Slovakia (Slovak Republic) & New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2019 - 12/11/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey! Matej and Bridget here. We are a couple, Matej is from Slovakia and Bridget is from New Zealand. We are currently in Iceland, we have worked as glacier guides but now we have a lot of spare time due to the virus.

    Matej - I am 29, I am from a small town surrounded by beautiful nature in the center of Slovakia. I have been traveling and working in the last few years. I spent last year in Canada where I met Bridget. I am a mountain enthusiast so my traveling is usually filled with all kinds of mountain activities. I also love animals and as I had to leave my dog at home I am always happy to spend time around them. I am a social, friendly, open-minded person who always enjoys meeting new people. I used volunteering as a way of travel in 2017 in Australia and last year in Canada. I am used to working hard and have no problem getting my hands dirty. I believe I can do any kind of work if I have enough time to learn it, I was looking for unexploded bombs last year in Canada and survived :)

    Bridget - I am 26 and from New Zealand. I grew up on a small hobby farm. My father runs a farm so I have grown up around farming and animals. I was a park ranger for several years in New Zealand. I worked in many different places around NZ in this position. My last two years were spent in Canada. I was a wildland firefighter in summer and worked at a ski resort in winter.
    I love animals, I had lots of pet lambs as a kid. I enjoy sports (tennis, field hockey, swimming, and skiing) I also love hiking and playing around outside. I have also started crocheting a lot in Iceland, one day I hope to knit a sweater!

  • Type of help

    Some knowledge of 

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

    Able to teach 

    Language practice
  • What skills do you have?

    Matej: I have got C+E driver's license so I can drive trucks and tractors ( I have more than 5 years of experience as a truck driver). I have a little bit of mechanical knowledge as well. I did workaway on a few farms before so I have some farming experiences. I have worked in many different professions and I have no problem trying something new.

    Bridget: I am a hard worker and enjoy working especially when I can see progress. I have a lot of random skills and experience that I have gathered during my years as a ranger, firefighter, and mussel/oyster farmer. I am happy working outside and don't have a problem getting dirty. I have done a few cow milkings in Iceland so I am fairly similar with the routine.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent

  • Age

    29 & 26

  • Nationality

    Slovak and New Zealander

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback