Martin

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Armenia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Georgia, Germany, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Moldova, Republic of, Montenegro, Nepal, Poland, Romania, Russia, Saint-Barthélemy, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Tajikistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/06/2016 - 30/09/2016

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hallo,
    I am an experienced, fully qualified (CELTA and Post Grad Certificate of Education - from the University of London,) teacher of English looking to travel in Europe and Asia. After 15 years experience as a lecturer in a London college, teaching learners from all over the world, I assumed it would be easy to travel and teach English. Unfortunately most foreign schools seem to be looking for young, rather than experienced, teachers, so Workaway seems a brilliant alternative.
    For the past half-dozen years I have also been working with children in a range of contexts - the pay has been low but the fun factor really HIGH! I have been a private tutor, a volunteer in a youth club, have taught teenagers in a UK secondary school and for the past two years have been working in UK primary schools (5-11) with youngsters with emotional and behavioural problems. I love helping children learn, and love encouraging their creativity.
    Over the past few years I have travelled mainly in Central and Eastern Europe, getting to know something of the countries many of my students have come from. I have also travelled across to the Russian far east by train and also to Central Asia. I would love to return to both of these fascinating regions!
    So, what can I offer?I am still youthfully enthusiastic, and get a great kick out of travelling, experiencing new cultures, and meeting people. I love being out and about - walking or cycling in the countryside, but also adore cities - I studied Urban Geography at University. I enjoy cycling, swimming, and gardening.
    As mentioned, I love working with children- but appreciate that this can be hard work and challenging; my work with 'difficult' children has left me with a number of scars - but has been constantly stimulating. Children never exhaust my patience, and I still have a good sense of humour.
    So if you'd like a traveller to practise your English with(or formally teach you?) who can fit in well and who doesn't mind hard work,and would love to become one of your team - here I am - I look forward to hearing from you!
    I have no fixed travel plans at the moment, so the countries listed are simply possibilities. I would love to revisit Russia, Central Asia or Eastern Europe, but there again, I have never been to Spain, or Portugal........or India.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching skills and qualification - as covered above, experience working with children aged 4+.
    Reasonable DIY and Gardening knowledge.
    Sense of humour - essential for all jobs!

  • Age

    64

  • Nationality

    United Kingdom

  • What else ...

    As mentioned , would particularly like to return to Russia or Central Asia, but am open to any offers or suggestions from Portugal to Siberia!!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback