Leah

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 24/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Kia ora! I'm Leah, and live in New Zealand. I've just finished a long 5 & 1/2 years studying Engineering and Commerce and am ready for a long trip abroad before I enter the 'real world' of 9-5.

    I am passionate and outgoing. Love travelling, food (eating and cooking), meeting new people, reading and music. I love to dance, explore, and learn.

    From South Africa originally and working various hospitality jobs as well as construction and engineering jobs, I'm used to working with diverse groups of people doing a diverse range of tasks.

    I am on Workaway to meet new people and try to integrate myself into another culture for a while. I believe in the goodness of people, helping others and in the positive effect cultural exchange can have on people.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a lot of skills, but my main strengths are people based. Put me in any group of people and I can not only shine, but create an effective team that shines as a whole.

    Some key skills:
    - excellent customer service skills
    - excellent written skills (creative copy and formal professional report writing)
    - editing and fact checking
    - small project management
    - database creation and management (SQL)
    - site safety
    - software skills
    - Microsoft Office suite, AutoCAD, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, SQL, Matlab
    - basic skills in SAP, C, Java, HTML

    I have worked hospitality jobs (mostly food service), I run cash operations for part of a music festival (Rhythm and Alps) every year, I have written, directed and performed in a show at University 3 years in a row. I have interned for over 2 years at a civil construction firm and another 6 months at Jacobs, an international civil engineering design firm. I have tutored math, English and engineering papers throughout my university career.

    My majors at the University of Auckland were Civil and Environmental engineering. I've had experience mostly on roading and pipeline construction sites with water and wastewater networks being a key interest. My Commerce majors were Information Systems and Marketing. I have a certificate in Business Analysis from IIBA and a certificate in ARIS.

  • Languages spoken

    Native English speaker. Learning Spanish

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    New Zealand

  • What else ...

    I am truly passionate about food and exploring other cultures.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback